New site

Cowles Library Drake University

All Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

Academic Search Complete - EBSCO

Academic Search Complete includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format

Coverage Dates: 1865 - current

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, it allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.

AccessScience

Full search of the encyclopedia plus science news, definitions, biographies, illustrations, animations and more.

Coverage Dates: Current

ACS Publications

Full-text of 32 journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Coverage Dates: From volume 1, number 1 - current

African American Experience (Greenwood)

Encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences published by Greenwood Press. Including: History, Biography, Literature, Arts, Music, Pop Culture, Folklore, Business, Slavery, Civil Rights, Politics, Sports, Education, Science & Technology, etc.
Includes material from major reference sets; includes many primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, etc.; includes over 4,000 interviews with former slaves—the WPA slave narratives—from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; “In their Own Voices” audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files.

African American Studies Center Online

The Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) features the new, three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, published in March 2005, the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience.

AMA Manual of Style

AMA Manual of Style contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts. This guide is an essential tool for physicians and other health professionals. In addition to the basics of grammar and citation, it leads writers through the maze of abbreviation, nomenclature, and quantitation.

America: History & Life - EBSCO

Indexing and abstracts of 2,400 scholarly journals on U.S. and Canadian History. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1964 - Current

American History in Video

American History in Video includes over 2,000 hours of streaming newsreels (United, Universal, Chronoscope, and others) and documentaries from The History Channel, Bullfrog, Ambrose, and California Newsreel -- with more to come. Keyword-searchable with synchronized transcripts, it's possible to make customized, annotated clips that can be saved to a personal playlist and shared in a class, cited in papers, or embedded on a web site.

Coverage Dates: 1492 - 2000

Annual Reviews

Access from Volume 1 to the present for the following Annual Review titles:
--Analytical Chemistry
--Astronomy & Astrophysics
--Biochemistry
--Biomedical Engineering
--Biophysics
--Cell & Developmental Biology
--Clinical Psychology
--Ecology & Systematics
--Entomology
--Genetics
--Genomics & Human Genetics
--Immunology
--Law & Social Science
--Medicine
--Microbiology
--Neuroscience
--Nutrition
--Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease
--Pharmacology & Toxicology
--Physiology
--Phytopathology
--Plant Biology
--Psychology
--Public Health
--Sociology
Access from Volume 1 to five years ago for all other Annual Review titles.

Coverage Dates: Varies - to current

Art Abstracts - EBSCO

Index & abstracts of major journals in art, architecture, film, graphic arts, and related areas. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1984 - Current

ArticleFirst - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Includes subjects: business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture. For most items, ArticleFirst provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Coverage Dates: 1990-present

ARTstor

A collection of digital images of art, architecture and design from a number of books (notably art history survey texts), museums, archives, and slide collections.
The ARTstor Collection currently contains approximately 500,000 images. The Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. (from pub blurb)

Technical Specifications:
Requires Java. Pop-ups must be allowed and cookies enabled. For full technical requirements, consult: this file.

ATLA Religion Database - EBSCO

The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Indexing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages, the ATLA Religion Database includes more than 460,000 article citations from over 1,500 journals, 651 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 260,000 essay citations from more than 15,400 multi-author works, and more than 423,000 book reviews, and an increasing number of multimedia citations. (from publisher blurb)

Coverage Dates: 1949 - current

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive

The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) was founded as a nonprofit, nondenominational, educational organization dedicated to the dissemination of information about archaeology in the Bible lands. BAS educates the public about archaeology and the Bible through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review. The database contains Biblical Archaeology Review (1975 - present), Bible Review (1985 - 2005 complete) and Archaeology Odyssey (1998 - 2006 complete), plus five popular books.

Coverage Dates: 1975 - present

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) - EBSCO

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Biological Abstracts - EBSCO

Collection of bibliographic references to life science journal literature published internationally. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1995 - current

BioMed Central

"An independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research."
Free access to dozens of full-text journals.
**May have to register.

Coverage Dates: Varies - Current

Birds of North America Online

Birds of North America (BNA) is only the fourth comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Edited by Drs. Alan Poole and Frank Gill, this series provides detailed scientific information (18 volumes, 18,000 pages in total) for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. The print version of BNA was completed in 2002, a joint 10 year project of the American Ornithologists' Union, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, and the Academy of Natural Sciences.
BNA Online will build image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more. And each online species account will contain recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.(excerpted from publisher blurb)

Black Studies Center

Brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Books In Print

"The industry’s largest Web-based bibliographic resource for professionals. Find what you're looking for quickly and easily, using our unbiased, authoritative, and comprehensive database of over 5 million book, audio book, and video titles." Also includes Book Reviews.

Britannica Online

Fully searchable version of the encyclopedia with thousands of articles and illustrations.

Coverage Dates: Current

Business Plans Handbook

Available through Gale Virtual Reference Library, all volumes are available.

Coverage Dates: 1993 - present

Business Source Complete - EBSCO

Business Source Complete includes full-text coverage of nearly 2,900 business and trade journals. It also includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Business Source Complete includes coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes

  • Financial Data
  • Books
  • Monographs
  • Major Reference works
  • Book Digests
  • Conference Proceedings
  • Case Studies
  • Investment Research Reports
  • Industry Reports
  • Market Research Reports
  • Country Reports
  • Company Profiles
  • SWOT Analyses, etc.

Coverage Dates: 1886 - current

Cambridge Histories Online

Prestigious Cambridge Histories Online for Europe, Latin America, India, and the Greco-Roman world. Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to approximately 196,000 pages of scholarship.
Covers over 15 different academic subjects: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language & Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political & Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts, and Warfare.

Coverage Dates: Ancient history to the present

Chicago Tribune

Full-text of the Chicago Tribune from 1/1/1985-present.
Extensive coverage of business news (including profiles of more than 85 Fortune 500 companies), along with biographical sketches, criticism and comment of research-worthy topics, coverage of social issues, urban affairs, sports, politics and government and cultural affairs.

Coverage Dates: 1985 - Current

Chronicle of Higher Education

Full-text access to the Chronicle of Higher Education. Content is updated daily and goes back to September 1989

Coverage Dates: Sept 1989 -

Chronicle of Philanthropy

Full-text of the Chronicle of Philanthropy. Content is added daily and goes back to October 1997.

Coverage Dates: Oct. 1997 -

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Full-text source for theory and research in international affairs.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Clase and Periodica - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Coverage Dates: 1975-present

Communication & Mass Media Complete - EBSCO

Full-text of 200+ journals in the area of mass media & communication studies. Also includes indexing of 300+ additional titles.

Coverage Dates: Varies - Current

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Electronic access to the full text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index is based on Communication Abstracts Thesauri. Subjects include Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Cultural Studies, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies

ConsumerLab

"ConsumerLab.com provides comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products. Includes ConsumerLab.com's independent product evaluations, lists of tested products (passed and failed), product recalls, and safety warnings. A science-based encyclopedia of natural products is also provided, including a drug-interaction database."
Subscription provides for up to FOUR simultaneous users.

Contemporary Authors

Full-text biographical information on twentieth century authors (novelists, poets, playwrights, etc.). Also includes New Revision Series.

Coverage Dates: Volume 1, Number 1 - present

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select

Full-text, timely critical analysis of key literary works of authors now living or who died after 1/1/2000. Emphasis is on established authors.

Coverage Dates: Sporadic coverage of v 1-74;
v 75 - covers 90%

CountryWatch

Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information about individual countries. Also includes daily news coverage.

Coverage Dates: Current

CQ Congress Collection

The CQ Congress Collection serves as a research and reference tool allowing a sweeping historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
"Informed and objective commentary provides a sweeping survey of the powers and action of the legislative branch of the federal government, and explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Public Affairs Collection

"Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, CQ Public Affairs Collection pulls together CQ's wealth of original content, historic documents and primary source materials, statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs to create a one-stop source for public policy content." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Researcher

Looking for a "hot topic" on which to do a research paper? This database is a great place to start! It offers pros & cons, background information, and in-depth analysis on a variety of topics, issues, and controversies currently in the news.

Coverage Dates: 1991 - current

CQ Supreme Court Collection

This collection blends CQ's historical analysis and summaries of the most important Supreme Court decisions together with justice biographies, statistics, and a quantitative analysis on essential topics, an institutional history of the Court, and news feed on current events and public opinion surrounding the Court's decisions.

CQ U.S. Historical Documents Collection

CQ has digitized the print "Historic Documents" series (1972-2003). This collection serves as a one-stop source for the most important and valuable commentary on primary source documents relating to each year's key events. Includes over 2,560 documents and 30,000 print pages.

CQ Voting & Elections Collection

"Broad content in the form of thousands of election analysis documents, statistical documents, primary source documents, case summary documents, and more. Exploring the campaign process, the election outcome, and points in between, including presidential, congressional, gubernatorial, and others, with data down to the county and district level." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Weekly

Complete coverage of the U.S. Congress; including status of bills, votes & amendments, floor & committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and much more.

Coverage Dates: 1984 - current

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

CSR (Congressional Research Service) Reports

CRS Reports was established to provide members, committees and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. Research divisions include: American Law, Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. Many CRS reports are updated at varying intervals, so it is always important to note the exact date of issuance rather than just the title and year of publication.

Coverage Dates: 1914 - current

Declassified Documents Reference System

Provides online access to more than 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. This source enables users to locate information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign/domestic policy studies, journalism, etc.

Coverage Dates: 1945 -

Des Moines Register

Full-text of the Des Moines Register, 1/1/2000-present.
Iowa's largest and most influential newspaper, focusing on Des Moines and its suburbs with news coverage including regional, national, and international issues and events.

Coverage Dates: 2000 - current

Dissertations and Theses WorldCat - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, it contains all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members in all subjects. There are over 8 million records in this database and it is updated daily.

Duke Scholarly Collection

Full-text of approximately 35 scholarly journals published by Duke University Press.

Ebooks - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is a catalog of online electronic books (over 665,000) available through libraries worldwide in all subjects.

ebrary

Database of over 10,000 electronic books in a wide variety of academic subject areas.
**You will need to download plug-in (ebrary reader) to view the books.

Coverage Dates: Varies, but mostly within past few years

ebrary Digital Sheet Music Collection (Byron Hoyt)

Access to over 8,300 pieces of sheet music.
**You will need to download plug-in (ebrary reader) to view the sheet music.

Coverage Dates: Varies

EconLit - EBSCO

Published by the American Economic Association, it provides provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature.

Coverage Dates: 1969 - Current

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Electronic access to the full text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index based on ERIC Thesauri. Subjects include Adult and Continuing Education, Assessment, Multilingual Education, Content Areas, Curriculum, Early Childhood Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Educational Psychology, Elementary and Primary Education, Family and Community, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Middle School Education, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Philosophy of Education, Professional Development, Research Methods and Evaluation, School Counseling, School Finance and Budgeting, School Funding, School Health, School Law, School Reform, Special Education and Gifted Education, Standards, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods, Technology, Theory of Education, and Vocational Education

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. This collection includes materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, 26 million pages from 138,000 titles with full-text search.

Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800

EmeraldPlus

Over 130 full-text journals in the areas of business & management.
Articles and journals marked with are not available to Drake users in full-text.

Coverage Dates: Varies; as early as 1988 - Current

Encyclopedia of Associations

Available through Gale Directory Library this is the most current version of the resource. It contains a wealth of information about companies and businesses.

ERIC - Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version of ERIC.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - Current

ERIC - EBSCO version

Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and documents in education; links to some full-text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - Current

ERIC - Free Department of Education version

Department of Education's free version of ERIC.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - Current

Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text coverage of 240 valuable resources for providing different viewpoints & perspectives from the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Coverage Dates: 1990 - Current

Facts and Comparisons

An internet based drug information library. It contains the following databases: Drug Facts & Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, Drug Interaction Facts for Herbal, Non-Prescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, A to Z Drug Facts, Review of Natural Products, Med Facts: Patient Handouts, Manufacturer Index, Drug Identifier, and The Cancer Chemotherapy Manual.

Coverage Dates: Current

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

Provided through Gale Directory Library this is the most current version of this source.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.

GalleryWatch CRS Reports - EBSCO

Contains the largest and most up-to-date collection of Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports available online. Content covers a host of subject areas, including economics, environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism and more.

Coverage Dates: 1993 - present

Gender Studies - EBSCO

Gender Studies Database produced by NISC, combines NISC’s popular Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.(from publisher web site)

Coverage Dates: 1972- Current

GenderWatch

Full-text of 170 publications providing in-depth perspective on gender studies. Also includes Women's Studies & Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender studies.

Coverage Dates: 1970 (for some material) - Current

Glassdoor

A comprehensive career resource with information on 26,000+ companies. Glassdoor includes salary and bonuses and details for specific jobs at specific companies, as well as actual interview questions and hiring process details. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pro's and con's of working for a particular employer. Reviews and data for this free database are posted anonymously by employees and job seekers.

Government Printing Office - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, the GPO Monthly Catalog covers all types of U.S. government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.

Coverage Dates: 1976-present

GPO Access (U.S. Government Printing Office)

Free index to federal government publications distributed through the Superintendent of Documents.

Coverage Dates: 1976 - Current

GreenFILE - EBSCO

A bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

Grove Art Online

see Oxford Art Online

Grove Music Online

See Oxford Music Online

Health Source: Consumer Edition - EBSCO

Consumer-oriented health information. Includes full-text for over 190 journals, including Consumer Reports on Health, and Men's Health.

Coverage Dates: Varies; some titles don't have most recent months

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - EBSCO

Provides full-text for over 590 scholarly journals in the medical and health sciences. Geared more towards the medical professional.

Coverage Dates: Varies; some titles don't have most recent months

HighWire Press Free Journals

Full-text of more than 80 journals in the medical and life sciences.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Historical Abstracts - EBSCO

Indexing and abstracts of over 2,100 scholarly journals in world history, from 1492 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1982 - current

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives

In the First Person is a new library index that lets users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. With a single search, users can access thousands of personal narratives in English from archives and repositories everywhere. The search returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available.
Every imaginable topic, historical event, and person is covered, from World War I and II to popular culture, music to medicine, Hitler to John Wayne, gay rights to September 11th. It’s the most comprehensive archive of social memory yet created—a one-stop starting point for historians, sociologists, genealogists, linguists, and psychologists who want to find, explore, and analyze human experiences. And it will be updated quarterly.

Index Islamicus

Bibliography of publications in European languages on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Provides access to over 292,000 records.
**In library only, stand-alone CD-ROM.

Coverage Dates: 1906-2002

IndexMaster

IndexMaster provides searchable access to the indices and/or tables of contents of over 10,000 legal titles from over 65 legal publishers.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Ingenta.com

Document delivery.
**Charges may apply.

Coverage Dates: Current

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data.

NOTE: (1) To be viewed or manipulated, data may require SAS or SPSS programs which are not currently available on library computers. (2) Users must create a free account to view data. The account must be created on campus. Once an account is created, it can be accessed on or off campus.

International Directory of Company Histories

Provided through Gale Virtual Reference Library this includes all 88 (and counting) volumes of this reference source.

Coverage Dates: 1988 - present

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) - EBSCO

Indexes articles in pharmaceutical related journals; links to some full-text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1970 - Current

IOPScience (Institute of Physics) Electronic Journals

Full-text of 60+ IOP (Institute of Physics) titles. Also includes some journals published by Turpion.

Coverage Dates: Vol. 1, Issue 1 - Current

JAMA

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)
Unlimited Users
Full-text of the journal: 1998--present
Table of Contents, Abstracts & Selected full-text: 1992-1997
Table of Contents & Abstracts only: 1975-1991
Table of Contents only: 1966-1974

Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics

Full-text of the journal.

Coverage Dates: Volume, 1, Number 1 - Current

JSTOR (JournalSTORage)

Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Click on SEARCH to begin.

Coverage Dates: Varies (from Volume 1, number 1 for each title)

Latino American Experience

The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
*A Virtual Library on the Topics—Over 200 volumes of content, from encyclopedias to biographies
* A Fully Searchable Timeline—Dating to the pre-Colonial civilizations of the Aztecs, Mayas, Incas, Caribes, and others, up through the most recent political movements and achievements of contemporary Latinos
* Origins Section—Content on modern-day Latin American countries, the history of the Hispanic diaspora, and Indigenous Peoples
* Spanish-Language—Content—Including folktales, recipes, and primary documents
* Primary Source Material—Maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, and other material in English and Spanish, plus links to vetted Web sites
(from publisher web site)

LegalTrac

Legal research sources.

Coverage Dates: Current

Lexi-Comp ONLINE

Only available to pharmacy students. Login and follow the links using the appropriate username and password.

Lexis-Nexis® Academic Universe Online

Full-text newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources in a variety of subject areas including business, medical, law, and more.

Coverage Dates: Coverage Dates: Varies by title, as early as 1977 - Current

LexisNexis Statistical

Database with access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

LGBT Life - EBSCO

LGBT Life (formerly: GLBT Life) contains full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,and Transgendered journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (EBSCO)

"Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. With coverage extending back to 1966, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science." (from publisher blurb)

Literary Reference Center

The Literary Reference Center was developed with undergraduate research in mind. It combines information from major reference works, books and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing providing users with information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Literary Reference Center includes -130,000 author biographies -3,000 author interviews -over 1,000 images of key literary figures -25,000 classic and contemporary poems -11,000 classic and contemporary short stories -full text of over 7,500 classic novels (anticipated by Fall 2006) -full text of over 300 literary journals -more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews -75,000 articles of literary criticism -500,000 book reviews -Citation Tool -Glossary of literary terms -Timeline with geographic contexts

Making of Modern Law

This database provides full-text access to over 22,000 American and British legal treatises.

Coverage Dates: 1800 - 1926

Making of Modern Law Trials

A collection of legal transcripts and sensational trial accounts describing the courtroom drama in America, the British Empire and the world.

Coverage Dates: 1600 - 1926

Marquis Who's Who

Biographical information from various "Who's Who" series.
**Be sure your web browser is set to accept "cookies."
**Also, please log-off when finished.

Coverage Dates: Current

MEDLINE - EBSCO version

Indexes over 4,600 journals in the medical and health sciences. Links to some full-text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - current

MEDLINE - PubMed version

National Library of Medicine's free version.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - Current

Mental Measurements Yearbook - EBSCO

The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 20000 contemporary testing instruments. Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska. Includes testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership.
License provides for up to 4 simultaneous users.

Mergent Online

Company Financial Information.
**Doesn't work with Netscape 4.7 or older or Macintosh.

Coverage Dates: Varies. At least 10 years retrospective data.

Micromedex Healthcare Series

Only available to pharmacy students. Login and follow the links using the appropriate username and password.

MLA (Modern Language Assn.) Bibliography - EBSCO

Index of journals and books in language and literature. Links to some full-text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1963 - Current

MLA (Modern Language Assn.) Directory of Periodicals - EBSCO

Contains information for over 7,000 language & literature journals (many of which are indexed in the MLA Bibliography database).

Coverage Dates: Current

MRI (Mediamark Research Inc.): University Internet Reporter

"The leading database of key magazine planning resources." Provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability samples. Create your own account by registering your Drake e-mail address. Subscription allows for 5 simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.

Coverage Dates: 2003 data (3 simultaneous log-ons)

Music Index Online

Indexing of more than 640 music periodicals.

Coverage Dates: 1979 - Current

Nation Archive - EBSCO

Full text of The Nation, a weekly magazine. Coverage includes 1865 to current issue.

Coverage Dates: 1865 - current

National Journal Group's Policy Central

Contains: National Journal online, CongressDaily, The Hotline, Technology Daily, & Almanac of American Politics.

Coverage Dates: Varies; as early as 1977 - Current

National Review Archive - EBSCO

The National Review has been a leading journal of opinion since its inception in 1955.

Coverage Dates: 1955 - present

Natural Standard

Evidence-based information for complementary/alternative medicine. Contains information for both health professionals and patients. Consists of three databases: herbs and supplements; medical conditions; modalities. Browse by medical conditions, herb/supplement or modality, or search by keyword. Information graded according to strength of scientific evidence

Nature

Nature is a weekly international science journal that publishes peer-reviewed original research, review articles, reports, and commentaries on the latest happenings in the sciences. Based upon impact factor, it is the "world's top multidisciplinary science journal, and the world's top journal publishing basic scientific research."

Coverage Dates: 1997 - present

Nature: News@Nature

"News@nature.com's mission is to provide the best science journalism on the web. Here you will find breaking news, extended features and analysis, acclaimed columnists, plus blogs and multimedia specials - all brought to you by our award-winning team of journalists, based in cities from San Francisco to Sydney. In addition to our extensive original content, we also host news stories from Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Medicine, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, and BioEntrepreneur, along with science careers news from NatureJobs. These articles appear on news@nature.com up to several weeks before they’re published in the print editions of these journals." (from publisher blurb)

Naxos Jass Music Library

Listen to your favorite jazz artist. This collection features Sonny Rollins, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Charlie Parker and many more. A component of the Naxos Music Library, this database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library contains over 355,000 recordings of classical, jazz, wind band, choral, and world music streamed at "CD quality" to your computer. 500 CDs are added every month. Contains comprehensive liner notes. Includes opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies and other essential information.
The recordings in Naxos Music Library include the complete catalogs of BIS, Chandos, CPO, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos and selected titles of other leading independent labels, with more labels being added from time to time.
This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Naxos Spoken Word Library

Naxos Spoken Word Library "comprises one of the most comprehensive collections of classic audiobook material available online." It is a component of the Naxos Music Library. The Naxos Spoken Word Library contains over 1,170 classic titles. Over 340 authors, playwrights, and poets in 21 categories, (from children's classics, classic fiction, to Shakespeare's plays, music education, and many more) are included. All are read by "literary greats."
This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

NetLibrary

Library of electronic books. Create a free account and view books from anywhere.

Coverage Dates: Varies

New England Journal of Medicine

Full text of The New England Journal of Medicine
1993-present: Full-text
January 1975-1992: Abstracts

Coverage Dates: Full-text: 1993 - Current

New Republic Archive - EBSCO

The New Republic, founded in 1914, is the country's leading journal of opinion on politics and the arts.

Coverage Dates: 1914 - present

New York Times (1851-three years ago)

Full-text including scanned digital images of the New York Times. Coverage includes 1851-three years ago.

Coverage Dates: 1851-2004

New York Times (2000-current)

Full-text coverage of "The New York Times." Coverage includes 1980-current.
Also includes "The New York Times Magazine," and "The New York Times Book Review."

Coverage Dates: 1980-present

Newspaper Source - EBSCO

Full-text of 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, and 6 newswires. Also includes the Christian Science Monitor & The Los Angeles Times.

Coverage Dates: Varies (usually mid-1980s to current)

OCLC WorldCat & FirstSearch databases (including ECO)

WorldCat, ECO, GPO Monthly Catalog, ERIC, Medline, ArticleFirst, NetFirst, PapersFirst, and ProceedingsFirst.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Original Sources

Published by Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes original source documents across U.S. & world history, literature, social sciences, science, math, religion, and more.

Coverage Dates: Historical and Current

Ovid Core Biomedical Collections I and II

Full-text of 30 core journals in the biomedical fields, such as Annals of Internal Medicine, Archives of Internal Medicine, JAMA, and Science.

Journals@Ovid Full Text = Access to the entire database, including indexing to titles not-subscribed to.

Your Journals@Ovid = Access to only the titles subscribed to by Cowles Library. It is a sub-set of the Journals@Ovid Full Text database.

-->NOTE: Subscription allows for up to SIX simultaneous log-ons. Please LOGOFF when finished!!

Oxford Art Online

Formerly Grove Art Online this database provides access to The Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms plus links to more than 40,000 images.

Coverage Dates: Current

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)

2nd edition of the 20-volume set. Includes meaning, history, & pronunciation of over 1/2 million words, both past and present.

Coverage Dates: Historical - Current

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Oxford Islamic Studies Online (OISO) offers unrivaled online access to the history and culture of Islam and provides full-text access to great Oxford reference and scholarly works.

Oxford Music Online

Formerly Grove Music Online this database includes the full-text of the Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Coverage Dates: Historical - present

Oxford Reference Online

Online access to over 100 dictionaries & reference works in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower

This database provides the most comprehensive collection (over 14,000 pages) of the 34th U.S. president's most significant writings, including letters, memoranda, cables and directives from the years prior to World War II through the full term of Eisenhower's presidency.

PapersFirst - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, it is an index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Coverage Dates: 1993-present

Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly. (from publisher blurb)

Coverage Dates: 1940 - current

PILOTS

The PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

PILOTS is also accessible via its government web site.

Coverage Dates: 1871-present

Policy, Form & Manual Analysis (PF & M)

Insurance forms, cases and other information. Select "P,F & M"
Username: drakeuni
Password: tbac3677

Coverage Dates: Current

Proceedings (Conference) - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of worldwide conference proceedings. Each record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference.

Coverage Dates: 1993-present

Professional Development Collection - EBSCO

Full-text for over 516 journals for the professional educator.

Coverage Dates: Varies by title

Project Muse

Full-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.

Coverage Dates: Varies, as early as 1995 - Current

PsycARTICLES - EBSCO

Full-text from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations.

Coverage Dates: 1987 - Current

PsycCRITIQUES - EBSCO

Publishes 15+ electronic full-text reviews weekly of psychological books.

Coverage Dates: 1995 - Current

PsycINFO - EBSCO

Contains more than two million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Coverage Dates: 1887 - Current

RefWorks

RefWorks automates the tasks of citing information & creating bibliographies for research papers. Allows you to create your own citations or import from online databases. For remote access, call the Reference Desk at 271-2113 to obtain the site code.

Regional Business News (formerly Business Wire News) - EBSCO

Full-text of 52 + regional business publications, including the Des Moines Business Record

Coverage Dates: Most recent 30 days

Resources For College Libraries

RCL is the online edition of the new Resources for College Libraries in conjunction with ACRL's Choice and Bowker. The 2006 edition is the successor to Books for College Libraries (BCL3). The core list features 65,000 titles in 58 curriculum-specific subjects. Titles have been selected by more than 300 subject specialists and bibliographers.

RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600

RISM series A/II: "Music manuscripts after 1600" is one of the most comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600. RISM brings together more than 585,559 records by over 20,500 composers.

This database is only available to one user at a time.

The database replaces the CD-ROM of this product.

Coverage Dates: 1600-present

Science Online

Our subscription includes:

  • Science: 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles. NOTE: Research papers in Science Express become available under this subscription after publication in the print version of the journal.)
  • ScienceNOW
All Free Content on the site:
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE Table of Contents of current issues and back issues
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE, abstracts and summaries
  • Science Supporting Online Material
  • Science Technical Comments
  • ScienceCareers.org including Next Wave and GrantsNet
  • ScienceNOW stories published within the past four weeks
  • Searching

Coverage Dates: 1997 - present

ScienceDirect

Indexing to over 1,800 journals in the biological, chemical, & pharmacological sciences. Links to full-text for 52+ titles.
Document Delivery is available for most titles.

Coverage Dates: Indexing: varies

Scientific American Archive

Full-text access to Scientific American, a monthly magazine.

Coverage Dates: v. 268, n. 1 (January 1993) - current

Scopus

Scopus claims to be the "worlds largest abstract and indexing database." Scopus indexs over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature (from over 4,000 international publishers). Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 100% coverage of Medline. A unique feature of this databaae is the "Cited By" feature, which offers the ability to determine (and track) the number of times a particular article/author has been cited and by whom.
Links to full-text when subscribed to by the Library; otherwise, offers citation information for Interlibrary Loan purposes.

Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound® is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection includes a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
The database includes more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones or speakers. Users can browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.

Social Services Abstracts

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Coverage Dates: 1980 - Current

Sociological Abstracts - Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version of Sociological Abstracts.

Coverage Dates: 1963 - Current

SPIN

SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network) is made available by Drake's Office of Sponsored Programs and Grants Management and is the most widely used funding opportunity database in the world. Researchers use SPIN as their one-stop-shop for identifying the latest grant programs. By aggregating sponsor information in one system, SPIN cuts search times and substantially increases the likelihood of positive results. Program information is presented in a standard format that allows investigators to readily compare funding opportunities. Off-campus users may use the following signon: * Username -- drakeu * Password -- spinslip

Teacher Reference Center - EBSCO

TRC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Tests In Print - EBSCO

Tests In Print (TIP) is produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska. TIP serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print is directly linked to the critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series. Users can research current test information from the TIP series and continue their search to all available test reviews published in the MMY series. (partially excerpted from publisher blurb)

Thomas Register Online

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Guide to manufacturers searchable by name, product or service.

Coverage Dates: Current

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.

Coverage Dates: 1785 - 1985

Times Delphic Index

Search names and subject terms from all Times Delphic articles at Drake University from 9/1/1978 to present. Selected topics can be searched back to 1900. Full text of articles are available on microfilm.

Coverage Dates: 9/1/1978-present

Ulrichsweb.com

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Bibliographic information on consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly journals, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, 'Zines, and many other types of serials publications. Can search by subject and/or keyword to determine "what's out there."

United States Serials Set

Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, the U.S. Serial Set provides the thinking behind the events of American life from the early 19th century onward - from agriculture, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. This collection includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaties beginning in 1789 through 1969.

Of particular importance to those who study law, the Serial Set contains Congressional legislative reports that provide insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1969.

Coverage Dates: 1789 - 1969

USP-NF (United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary)

-->Click "log-on" to begin
-->Subscription allows for one simultaneous user
-->Must use Microsoft Internet Explorer (version 5.x or 6.0) as the Web browser
-->Pop-up blockers must be disabled
-->Please log-off when finished!

Coverage Dates: Current

Vocational & Career Collection - EBSCO

This collection provides full-text coverage for 400 trade & industry related periodicals. Also includes indexing for an additional 250 periodicals.

Coverage Dates: 1985 - Current

Wall Street Journal

Full-text of the newspaper.

Coverage Dates: 1986 - Current

Wiley InterScience

Access to the full-text of 300+ journals in business, chemistry, education, life sciences, and more.

Coverage Dates: 1996 - Current

WorldCat - OCLC

WorldCat is a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. If you are unable to find something in the Cowles Library collection using the I-LINK catalog, this is an excellent place to continue your search. Use the Interlibrary Loan link on this page to obtain materials from other collections.

Coverage Dates: Varies