New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Databases Titles: Beginning with 'A'

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

Academic Search Complete - EBSCO

Academic Search Complete includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format

Coverage Dates: 1865 - current

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, it allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.

AccessScience

Full search of the encyclopedia plus science news, definitions, biographies, illustrations, animations and more.

Coverage Dates: Current

ACS Publications

Full-text of 32 journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Coverage Dates: From volume 1, number 1 - current

African American Experience (Greenwood)

Encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences published by Greenwood Press. Including: History, Biography, Literature, Arts, Music, Pop Culture, Folklore, Business, Slavery, Civil Rights, Politics, Sports, Education, Science & Technology, etc.
Includes material from major reference sets; includes many primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, etc.; includes over 4,000 interviews with former slaves—the WPA slave narratives—from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; “In their Own Voices” audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files.

African American Studies Center Online

The Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) features the new, three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, published in March 2005, the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience.

AMA Manual of Style

AMA Manual of Style contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts. This guide is an essential tool for physicians and other health professionals. In addition to the basics of grammar and citation, it leads writers through the maze of abbreviation, nomenclature, and quantitation.

America: History & Life - EBSCO

Indexing and abstracts of 2,400 scholarly journals on U.S. and Canadian History. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1964 - Current

American History in Video

American History in Video includes over 2,000 hours of streaming newsreels (United, Universal, Chronoscope, and others) and documentaries from The History Channel, Bullfrog, Ambrose, and California Newsreel -- with more to come. Keyword-searchable with synchronized transcripts, it's possible to make customized, annotated clips that can be saved to a personal playlist and shared in a class, cited in papers, or embedded on a web site.

Coverage Dates: 1492 - 2000

Annual Reviews

Access from Volume 1 to the present for the following Annual Review titles:
--Analytical Chemistry
--Astronomy & Astrophysics
--Biochemistry
--Biomedical Engineering
--Biophysics
--Cell & Developmental Biology
--Clinical Psychology
--Ecology & Systematics
--Entomology
--Genetics
--Genomics & Human Genetics
--Immunology
--Law & Social Science
--Medicine
--Microbiology
--Neuroscience
--Nutrition
--Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease
--Pharmacology & Toxicology
--Physiology
--Phytopathology
--Plant Biology
--Psychology
--Public Health
--Sociology
Access from Volume 1 to five years ago for all other Annual Review titles.

Coverage Dates: Varies - to current

Art Abstracts - EBSCO

Index & abstracts of major journals in art, architecture, film, graphic arts, and related areas. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1984 - Current

ArticleFirst - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Includes subjects: business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture. For most items, ArticleFirst provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Coverage Dates: 1990-present

ARTstor

A collection of digital images of art, architecture and design from a number of books (notably art history survey texts), museums, archives, and slide collections.
The ARTstor Collection currently contains approximately 500,000 images. The Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. (from pub blurb)

Technical Specifications:
Requires Java. Pop-ups must be allowed and cookies enabled. For full technical requirements, consult: this file.

ATLA Religion Database - EBSCO

The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Indexing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages, the ATLA Religion Database includes more than 460,000 article citations from over 1,500 journals, 651 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 260,000 essay citations from more than 15,400 multi-author works, and more than 423,000 book reviews, and an increasing number of multimedia citations. (from publisher blurb)

Coverage Dates: 1949 - current