New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Databases Titles: Beginning with 'B'

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive

The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) was founded as a nonprofit, nondenominational, educational organization dedicated to the dissemination of information about archaeology in the Bible lands. BAS educates the public about archaeology and the Bible through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review. The database contains Biblical Archaeology Review (1975 - present), Bible Review (1985 - 2005 complete) and Archaeology Odyssey (1998 - 2006 complete), plus five popular books.

Coverage Dates: 1975 - present

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) - EBSCO

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Biological Abstracts - EBSCO

Collection of bibliographic references to life science journal literature published internationally. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1995 - current

BioMed Central

"An independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research."
Free access to dozens of full-text journals.
**May have to register.

Coverage Dates: Varies - Current

Birds of North America Online

Birds of North America (BNA) is only the fourth comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Edited by Drs. Alan Poole and Frank Gill, this series provides detailed scientific information (18 volumes, 18,000 pages in total) for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. The print version of BNA was completed in 2002, a joint 10 year project of the American Ornithologists' Union, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, and the Academy of Natural Sciences.
BNA Online will build image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more. And each online species account will contain recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.(excerpted from publisher blurb)

Black Studies Center

Brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Books In Print

"The industry’s largest Web-based bibliographic resource for professionals. Find what you're looking for quickly and easily, using our unbiased, authoritative, and comprehensive database of over 5 million book, audio book, and video titles." Also includes Book Reviews.

Britannica Online

Fully searchable version of the encyclopedia with thousands of articles and illustrations.

Coverage Dates: Current

Business Plans Handbook

Available through Gale Virtual Reference Library, all volumes are available.

Coverage Dates: 1993 - present

Business Source Complete - EBSCO

Business Source Complete includes full-text coverage of nearly 2,900 business and trade journals. It also includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Business Source Complete includes coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes

  • Financial Data
  • Books
  • Monographs
  • Major Reference works
  • Book Digests
  • Conference Proceedings
  • Case Studies
  • Investment Research Reports
  • Industry Reports
  • Market Research Reports
  • Country Reports
  • Company Profiles
  • SWOT Analyses, etc.

Coverage Dates: 1886 - current