New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Databases Titles: Beginning with 'C'

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

Cambridge Histories Online

Prestigious Cambridge Histories Online for Europe, Latin America, India, and the Greco-Roman world. Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to approximately 196,000 pages of scholarship.
Covers over 15 different academic subjects: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language & Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political & Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts, and Warfare.

Coverage Dates: Ancient history to the present

Chicago Tribune

Full-text of the Chicago Tribune from 1/1/1985-present.
Extensive coverage of business news (including profiles of more than 85 Fortune 500 companies), along with biographical sketches, criticism and comment of research-worthy topics, coverage of social issues, urban affairs, sports, politics and government and cultural affairs.

Coverage Dates: 1985 - Current

Chronicle of Higher Education

Full-text access to the Chronicle of Higher Education. Content is updated daily and goes back to September 1989

Coverage Dates: Sept 1989 -

Chronicle of Philanthropy

Full-text of the Chronicle of Philanthropy. Content is added daily and goes back to October 1997.

Coverage Dates: Oct. 1997 -

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Full-text source for theory and research in international affairs.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Clase and Periodica - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Coverage Dates: 1975-present

Communication & Mass Media Complete - EBSCO

Full-text of 200+ journals in the area of mass media & communication studies. Also includes indexing of 300+ additional titles.

Coverage Dates: Varies - Current

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Electronic access to the full text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index is based on Communication Abstracts Thesauri. Subjects include Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Cultural Studies, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies

ConsumerLab

"ConsumerLab.com provides comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products. Includes ConsumerLab.com's independent product evaluations, lists of tested products (passed and failed), product recalls, and safety warnings. A science-based encyclopedia of natural products is also provided, including a drug-interaction database."
Subscription provides for up to FOUR simultaneous users.

Contemporary Authors

Full-text biographical information on twentieth century authors (novelists, poets, playwrights, etc.). Also includes New Revision Series.

Coverage Dates: Volume 1, Number 1 - present

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select

Full-text, timely critical analysis of key literary works of authors now living or who died after 1/1/2000. Emphasis is on established authors.

Coverage Dates: Sporadic coverage of v 1-74;
v 75 - covers 90%

CountryWatch

Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information about individual countries. Also includes daily news coverage.

Coverage Dates: Current

CQ Congress Collection

The CQ Congress Collection serves as a research and reference tool allowing a sweeping historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
"Informed and objective commentary provides a sweeping survey of the powers and action of the legislative branch of the federal government, and explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Public Affairs Collection

"Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, CQ Public Affairs Collection pulls together CQ's wealth of original content, historic documents and primary source materials, statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs to create a one-stop source for public policy content." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Researcher

Looking for a "hot topic" on which to do a research paper? This database is a great place to start! It offers pros & cons, background information, and in-depth analysis on a variety of topics, issues, and controversies currently in the news.

Coverage Dates: 1991 - current

CQ Supreme Court Collection

This collection blends CQ's historical analysis and summaries of the most important Supreme Court decisions together with justice biographies, statistics, and a quantitative analysis on essential topics, an institutional history of the Court, and news feed on current events and public opinion surrounding the Court's decisions.

CQ U.S. Historical Documents Collection

CQ has digitized the print "Historic Documents" series (1972-2003). This collection serves as a one-stop source for the most important and valuable commentary on primary source documents relating to each year's key events. Includes over 2,560 documents and 30,000 print pages.

CQ Voting & Elections Collection

"Broad content in the form of thousands of election analysis documents, statistical documents, primary source documents, case summary documents, and more. Exploring the campaign process, the election outcome, and points in between, including presidential, congressional, gubernatorial, and others, with data down to the county and district level." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Weekly

Complete coverage of the U.S. Congress; including status of bills, votes & amendments, floor & committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and much more.

Coverage Dates: 1984 - current

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

CSR (Congressional Research Service) Reports

CRS Reports was established to provide members, committees and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. Research divisions include: American Law, Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. Many CRS reports are updated at varying intervals, so it is always important to note the exact date of issuance rather than just the title and year of publication.

Coverage Dates: 1914 - current