New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Databases Titles: Beginning with 'L'

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

Latino American Experience

The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
*A Virtual Library on the Topics—Over 200 volumes of content, from encyclopedias to biographies
* A Fully Searchable Timeline—Dating to the pre-Colonial civilizations of the Aztecs, Mayas, Incas, Caribes, and others, up through the most recent political movements and achievements of contemporary Latinos
* Origins Section—Content on modern-day Latin American countries, the history of the Hispanic diaspora, and Indigenous Peoples
* Spanish-Language—Content—Including folktales, recipes, and primary documents
* Primary Source Material—Maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, and other material in English and Spanish, plus links to vetted Web sites
(from publisher web site)

LegalTrac

Legal research sources.

Coverage Dates: Current

Lexi-Comp ONLINE

Only available to pharmacy students. Login and follow the links using the appropriate username and password.

Lexis-Nexis® Academic Universe Online

Full-text newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources in a variety of subject areas including business, medical, law, and more.

Coverage Dates: Coverage Dates: Varies by title, as early as 1977 - Current

LexisNexis Statistical

Database with access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

LGBT Life - EBSCO

LGBT Life (formerly: GLBT Life) contains full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,and Transgendered journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (EBSCO)

"Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. With coverage extending back to 1966, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science." (from publisher blurb)

Literary Reference Center

The Literary Reference Center was developed with undergraduate research in mind. It combines information from major reference works, books and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing providing users with information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Literary Reference Center includes -130,000 author biographies -3,000 author interviews -over 1,000 images of key literary figures -25,000 classic and contemporary poems -11,000 classic and contemporary short stories -full text of over 7,500 classic novels (anticipated by Fall 2006) -full text of over 300 literary journals -more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews -75,000 articles of literary criticism -500,000 book reviews -Citation Tool -Glossary of literary terms -Timeline with geographic contexts