New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Databases Titles: Beginning with 'S'

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

Science Online

Our subscription includes:

  • Science: 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles. NOTE: Research papers in Science Express become available under this subscription after publication in the print version of the journal.)
  • ScienceNOW
All Free Content on the site:
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE Table of Contents of current issues and back issues
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE, abstracts and summaries
  • Science Supporting Online Material
  • Science Technical Comments
  • ScienceCareers.org including Next Wave and GrantsNet
  • ScienceNOW stories published within the past four weeks
  • Searching

Coverage Dates: 1997 - present

ScienceDirect

Indexing to over 1,800 journals in the biological, chemical, & pharmacological sciences. Links to full-text for 52+ titles.
Document Delivery is available for most titles.

Coverage Dates: Indexing: varies

Scientific American Archive

Full-text access to Scientific American, a monthly magazine.

Coverage Dates: v. 268, n. 1 (January 1993) - current

Scopus

Scopus claims to be the "worlds largest abstract and indexing database." Scopus indexs over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature (from over 4,000 international publishers). Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 100% coverage of Medline. A unique feature of this databaae is the "Cited By" feature, which offers the ability to determine (and track) the number of times a particular article/author has been cited and by whom.
Links to full-text when subscribed to by the Library; otherwise, offers citation information for Interlibrary Loan purposes.

Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound® is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection includes a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
The database includes more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones or speakers. Users can browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.

Social Services Abstracts

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Coverage Dates: 1980 - Current

Sociological Abstracts - Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version of Sociological Abstracts.

Coverage Dates: 1963 - Current

SPIN

SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network) is made available by Drake's Office of Sponsored Programs and Grants Management and is the most widely used funding opportunity database in the world. Researchers use SPIN as their one-stop-shop for identifying the latest grant programs. By aggregating sponsor information in one system, SPIN cuts search times and substantially increases the likelihood of positive results. Program information is presented in a standard format that allows investigators to readily compare funding opportunities. Off-campus users may use the following signon: * Username -- drakeu * Password -- spinslip