New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Business Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

fastFind (learn more)
Search across many Business databases:

ArticleFirst - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Includes subjects: business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture. For most items, ArticleFirst provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Coverage Dates: 1990-present

Business Plans Handbook

Available through Gale Virtual Reference Library, all volumes are available.

Coverage Dates: 1993 - present

Business Source Complete - EBSCO

Business Source Complete includes full-text coverage of nearly 2,900 business and trade journals. It also includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Business Source Complete includes coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes

  • Financial Data
  • Books
  • Monographs
  • Major Reference works
  • Book Digests
  • Conference Proceedings
  • Case Studies
  • Investment Research Reports
  • Industry Reports
  • Market Research Reports
  • Country Reports
  • Company Profiles
  • SWOT Analyses, etc.

Coverage Dates: 1886 - current

Cambridge Histories Online

Prestigious Cambridge Histories Online for Europe, Latin America, India, and the Greco-Roman world. Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to approximately 196,000 pages of scholarship.
Covers over 15 different academic subjects: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language & Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political & Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts, and Warfare.

Coverage Dates: Ancient history to the present

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Electronic access to the full text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index is based on Communication Abstracts Thesauri. Subjects include Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Cultural Studies, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

CSR (Congressional Research Service) Reports

CRS Reports was established to provide members, committees and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. Research divisions include: American Law, Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. Many CRS reports are updated at varying intervals, so it is always important to note the exact date of issuance rather than just the title and year of publication.

Coverage Dates: 1914 - current

Declassified Documents Reference System

Provides online access to more than 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. This source enables users to locate information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign/domestic policy studies, journalism, etc.

Coverage Dates: 1945 -

EconLit - EBSCO

Published by the American Economic Association, it provides provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature.

Coverage Dates: 1969 - Current

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. This collection includes materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, 26 million pages from 138,000 titles with full-text search.

Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800

EmeraldPlus

Over 130 full-text journals in the areas of business & management.
Articles and journals marked with are not available to Drake users in full-text.

Coverage Dates: Varies; as early as 1988 - Current

Encyclopedia of Associations

Available through Gale Directory Library this is the most current version of the resource. It contains a wealth of information about companies and businesses.

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

Provided through Gale Directory Library this is the most current version of this source.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.

Glassdoor

A comprehensive career resource with information on 26,000+ companies. Glassdoor includes salary and bonuses and details for specific jobs at specific companies, as well as actual interview questions and hiring process details. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pro's and con's of working for a particular employer. Reviews and data for this free database are posted anonymously by employees and job seekers.

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data.

NOTE: (1) To be viewed or manipulated, data may require SAS or SPSS programs which are not currently available on library computers. (2) Users must create a free account to view data. The account must be created on campus. Once an account is created, it can be accessed on or off campus.

International Directory of Company Histories

Provided through Gale Virtual Reference Library this includes all 88 (and counting) volumes of this reference source.

Coverage Dates: 1988 - present

JSTOR (JournalSTORage)

Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Click on SEARCH to begin.

Coverage Dates: Varies (from Volume 1, number 1 for each title)

Lexis-Nexis® Academic Universe Online

Full-text newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources in a variety of subject areas including business, medical, law, and more.

Coverage Dates: Coverage Dates: Varies by title, as early as 1977 - Current

Mergent Online

Company Financial Information.
**Doesn't work with Netscape 4.7 or older or Macintosh.

Coverage Dates: Varies. At least 10 years retrospective data.

MRI (Mediamark Research Inc.): University Internet Reporter

"The leading database of key magazine planning resources." Provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability samples. Create your own account by registering your Drake e-mail address. Subscription allows for 5 simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.

Coverage Dates: 2003 data (3 simultaneous log-ons)

Policy, Form & Manual Analysis (PF & M)

Insurance forms, cases and other information. Select "P,F & M"
Username: drakeuni
Password: tbac3677

Coverage Dates: Current

RefWorks

RefWorks automates the tasks of citing information & creating bibliographies for research papers. Allows you to create your own citations or import from online databases. For remote access, call the Reference Desk at 271-2113 to obtain the site code.

Regional Business News (formerly Business Wire News) - EBSCO

Full-text of 52 + regional business publications, including the Des Moines Business Record

Coverage Dates: Most recent 30 days

Scopus

Scopus claims to be the "worlds largest abstract and indexing database." Scopus indexs over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature (from over 4,000 international publishers). Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 100% coverage of Medline. A unique feature of this databaae is the "Cited By" feature, which offers the ability to determine (and track) the number of times a particular article/author has been cited and by whom.
Links to full-text when subscribed to by the Library; otherwise, offers citation information for Interlibrary Loan purposes.

Thomas Register Online

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Guide to manufacturers searchable by name, product or service.

Coverage Dates: Current

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.

Coverage Dates: 1785 - 1985

United States Serials Set

Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, the U.S. Serial Set provides the thinking behind the events of American life from the early 19th century onward - from agriculture, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. This collection includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaties beginning in 1789 through 1969.

Of particular importance to those who study law, the Serial Set contains Congressional legislative reports that provide insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1969.

Coverage Dates: 1789 - 1969

Vocational & Career Collection - EBSCO

This collection provides full-text coverage for 400 trade & industry related periodicals. Also includes indexing for an additional 250 periodicals.

Coverage Dates: 1985 - Current

Wall Street Journal

Full-text of the newspaper.

Coverage Dates: 1986 - Current