New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Newspapers Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

fastFind (learn more)
Search across many Newspapers databases:

Chicago Tribune

Full-text of the Chicago Tribune from 1/1/1985-present.
Extensive coverage of business news (including profiles of more than 85 Fortune 500 companies), along with biographical sketches, criticism and comment of research-worthy topics, coverage of social issues, urban affairs, sports, politics and government and cultural affairs.

Coverage Dates: 1985 - Current

Chronicle of Higher Education

Full-text access to the Chronicle of Higher Education. Content is updated daily and goes back to September 1989

Coverage Dates: Sept 1989 -

Chronicle of Philanthropy

Full-text of the Chronicle of Philanthropy. Content is added daily and goes back to October 1997.

Coverage Dates: Oct. 1997 -

Des Moines Register

Full-text of the Des Moines Register, 1/1/2000-present.
Iowa's largest and most influential newspaper, focusing on Des Moines and its suburbs with news coverage including regional, national, and international issues and events.

Coverage Dates: 2000 - current

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. This collection includes materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, 26 million pages from 138,000 titles with full-text search.

Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800

Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text coverage of 240 valuable resources for providing different viewpoints & perspectives from the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Coverage Dates: 1990 - Current

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

Lexis-Nexis® Academic Universe Online

Full-text newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources in a variety of subject areas including business, medical, law, and more.

Coverage Dates: Coverage Dates: Varies by title, as early as 1977 - Current

New York Times (1851-three years ago)

Full-text including scanned digital images of the New York Times. Coverage includes 1851-three years ago.

Coverage Dates: 1851-2004

New York Times (2000-current)

Full-text coverage of "The New York Times." Coverage includes 1980-current.
Also includes "The New York Times Magazine," and "The New York Times Book Review."

Coverage Dates: 1980-present

Newspaper Source - EBSCO

Full-text of 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, and 6 newswires. Also includes the Christian Science Monitor & The Los Angeles Times.

Coverage Dates: Varies (usually mid-1980s to current)

Regional Business News (formerly Business Wire News) - EBSCO

Full-text of 52 + regional business publications, including the Des Moines Business Record

Coverage Dates: Most recent 30 days

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.

Coverage Dates: 1785 - 1985

Times Delphic Index

Search names and subject terms from all Times Delphic articles at Drake University from 9/1/1978 to present. Selected topics can be searched back to 1900. Full text of articles are available on microfilm.

Coverage Dates: 9/1/1978-present

Wall Street Journal

Full-text of the newspaper.

Coverage Dates: 1986 - Current