New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Encyclopedias Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

fastFind (learn more)
Search across many Encyclopedias databases:

AccessScience

Full search of the encyclopedia plus science news, definitions, biographies, illustrations, animations and more.

Coverage Dates: Current

African American Experience (Greenwood)

Encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences published by Greenwood Press. Including: History, Biography, Literature, Arts, Music, Pop Culture, Folklore, Business, Slavery, Civil Rights, Politics, Sports, Education, Science & Technology, etc.
Includes material from major reference sets; includes many primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, etc.; includes over 4,000 interviews with former slaves—the WPA slave narratives—from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; “In their Own Voices” audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files.

African American Studies Center Online

The Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) features the new, three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, published in March 2005, the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience.

Britannica Online

Fully searchable version of the encyclopedia with thousands of articles and illustrations.

Coverage Dates: Current

ConsumerLab

"ConsumerLab.com provides comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products. Includes ConsumerLab.com's independent product evaluations, lists of tested products (passed and failed), product recalls, and safety warnings. A science-based encyclopedia of natural products is also provided, including a drug-interaction database."
Subscription provides for up to FOUR simultaneous users.

Contemporary Authors

Full-text biographical information on twentieth century authors (novelists, poets, playwrights, etc.). Also includes New Revision Series.

Coverage Dates: Volume 1, Number 1 - present

CountryWatch

Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information about individual countries. Also includes daily news coverage.

Coverage Dates: Current

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

Encyclopedia of Associations

Available through Gale Directory Library this is the most current version of the resource. It contains a wealth of information about companies and businesses.

Facts and Comparisons

An internet based drug information library. It contains the following databases: Drug Facts & Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, Drug Interaction Facts for Herbal, Non-Prescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, A to Z Drug Facts, Review of Natural Products, Med Facts: Patient Handouts, Manufacturer Index, Drug Identifier, and The Cancer Chemotherapy Manual.

Coverage Dates: Current

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

Marquis Who's Who

Biographical information from various "Who's Who" series.
**Be sure your web browser is set to accept "cookies."
**Also, please log-off when finished.

Coverage Dates: Current

Original Sources

Published by Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes original source documents across U.S. & world history, literature, social sciences, science, math, religion, and more.

Coverage Dates: Historical and Current

Oxford Art Online

Formerly Grove Art Online this database provides access to The Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms plus links to more than 40,000 images.

Coverage Dates: Current

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)

2nd edition of the 20-volume set. Includes meaning, history, & pronunciation of over 1/2 million words, both past and present.

Coverage Dates: Historical - Current

Oxford Music Online

Formerly Grove Music Online this database includes the full-text of the Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Coverage Dates: Historical - present

Oxford Reference Online

Online access to over 100 dictionaries & reference works in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Coverage Dates: Varies