New site

Cowles Library Drake University

All New Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

American History in Video

American History in Video includes over 2,000 hours of streaming newsreels (United, Universal, Chronoscope, and others) and documentaries from The History Channel, Bullfrog, Ambrose, and California Newsreel -- with more to come. Keyword-searchable with synchronized transcripts, it's possible to make customized, annotated clips that can be saved to a personal playlist and shared in a class, cited in papers, or embedded on a web site.

Coverage Dates: 1492 - 2000

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive

The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) was founded as a nonprofit, nondenominational, educational organization dedicated to the dissemination of information about archaeology in the Bible lands. BAS educates the public about archaeology and the Bible through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review. The database contains Biblical Archaeology Review (1975 - present), Bible Review (1985 - 2005 complete) and Archaeology Odyssey (1998 - 2006 complete), plus five popular books.

Coverage Dates: 1975 - present

Black Studies Center

Brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Cambridge Histories Online

Prestigious Cambridge Histories Online for Europe, Latin America, India, and the Greco-Roman world. Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to approximately 196,000 pages of scholarship.
Covers over 15 different academic subjects: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language & Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political & Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts, and Warfare.

Coverage Dates: Ancient history to the present

Declassified Documents Reference System

Provides online access to more than 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. This source enables users to locate information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign/domestic policy studies, journalism, etc.

Coverage Dates: 1945 -

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. This collection includes materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, 26 million pages from 138,000 titles with full-text search.

Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800

Glassdoor

A comprehensive career resource with information on 26,000+ companies. Glassdoor includes salary and bonuses and details for specific jobs at specific companies, as well as actual interview questions and hiring process details. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pro's and con's of working for a particular employer. Reviews and data for this free database are posted anonymously by employees and job seekers.

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

Naxos Jass Music Library

Listen to your favorite jazz artist. This collection features Sonny Rollins, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Charlie Parker and many more. A component of the Naxos Music Library, this database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library contains over 355,000 recordings of classical, jazz, wind band, choral, and world music streamed at "CD quality" to your computer. 500 CDs are added every month. Contains comprehensive liner notes. Includes opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies and other essential information.
The recordings in Naxos Music Library include the complete catalogs of BIS, Chandos, CPO, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos and selected titles of other leading independent labels, with more labels being added from time to time.
This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Naxos Spoken Word Library

Naxos Spoken Word Library "comprises one of the most comprehensive collections of classic audiobook material available online." It is a component of the Naxos Music Library. The Naxos Spoken Word Library contains over 1,170 classic titles. Over 340 authors, playwrights, and poets in 21 categories, (from children's classics, classic fiction, to Shakespeare's plays, music education, and many more) are included. All are read by "literary greats."
This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower

This database provides the most comprehensive collection (over 14,000 pages) of the 34th U.S. president's most significant writings, including letters, memoranda, cables and directives from the years prior to World War II through the full term of Eisenhower's presidency.

Science Online

Our subscription includes:

  • Science: 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles. NOTE: Research papers in Science Express become available under this subscription after publication in the print version of the journal.)
  • ScienceNOW
All Free Content on the site:
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE Table of Contents of current issues and back issues
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE, abstracts and summaries
  • Science Supporting Online Material
  • Science Technical Comments
  • ScienceCareers.org including Next Wave and GrantsNet
  • ScienceNOW stories published within the past four weeks
  • Searching

Coverage Dates: 1997 - present

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.

Coverage Dates: 1785 - 1985

United States Serials Set

Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, the U.S. Serial Set provides the thinking behind the events of American life from the early 19th century onward - from agriculture, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. This collection includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaties beginning in 1789 through 1969.

Of particular importance to those who study law, the Serial Set contains Congressional legislative reports that provide insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1969.

Coverage Dates: 1789 - 1969