New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Sciences Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

fastFind (learn more)
Search across many Sciences databases:

AccessScience

Full search of the encyclopedia plus science news, definitions, biographies, illustrations, animations and more.

Coverage Dates: Current

ACS Publications

Full-text of 32 journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Coverage Dates: From volume 1, number 1 - current

Annual Reviews

Access from Volume 1 to the present for the following Annual Review titles:
--Analytical Chemistry
--Astronomy & Astrophysics
--Biochemistry
--Biomedical Engineering
--Biophysics
--Cell & Developmental Biology
--Clinical Psychology
--Ecology & Systematics
--Entomology
--Genetics
--Genomics & Human Genetics
--Immunology
--Law & Social Science
--Medicine
--Microbiology
--Neuroscience
--Nutrition
--Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease
--Pharmacology & Toxicology
--Physiology
--Phytopathology
--Plant Biology
--Psychology
--Public Health
--Sociology
Access from Volume 1 to five years ago for all other Annual Review titles.

Coverage Dates: Varies - to current

ArticleFirst - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Includes subjects: business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture. For most items, ArticleFirst provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Coverage Dates: 1990-present

Biological Abstracts - EBSCO

Collection of bibliographic references to life science journal literature published internationally. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1995 - current

BioMed Central

"An independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research."
Free access to dozens of full-text journals.
**May have to register.

Coverage Dates: Varies - Current

Birds of North America Online

Birds of North America (BNA) is only the fourth comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Edited by Drs. Alan Poole and Frank Gill, this series provides detailed scientific information (18 volumes, 18,000 pages in total) for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. The print version of BNA was completed in 2002, a joint 10 year project of the American Ornithologists' Union, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, and the Academy of Natural Sciences.
BNA Online will build image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more. And each online species account will contain recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.(excerpted from publisher blurb)

Clase and Periodica - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Coverage Dates: 1975-present

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. This collection includes materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, 26 million pages from 138,000 titles with full-text search.

Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800

GreenFILE - EBSCO

A bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

HighWire Press Free Journals

Full-text of more than 80 journals in the medical and life sciences.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data.

NOTE: (1) To be viewed or manipulated, data may require SAS or SPSS programs which are not currently available on library computers. (2) Users must create a free account to view data. The account must be created on campus. Once an account is created, it can be accessed on or off campus.

IOPScience (Institute of Physics) Electronic Journals

Full-text of 60+ IOP (Institute of Physics) titles. Also includes some journals published by Turpion.

Coverage Dates: Vol. 1, Issue 1 - Current

Journal of Physics B: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics

Full-text of the journal.

Coverage Dates: Volume, 1, Number 1 - Current

JSTOR (JournalSTORage)

Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Click on SEARCH to begin.

Coverage Dates: Varies (from Volume 1, number 1 for each title)

Nature

Nature is a weekly international science journal that publishes peer-reviewed original research, review articles, reports, and commentaries on the latest happenings in the sciences. Based upon impact factor, it is the "world's top multidisciplinary science journal, and the world's top journal publishing basic scientific research."

Coverage Dates: 1997 - present

Nature: News@Nature

"News@nature.com's mission is to provide the best science journalism on the web. Here you will find breaking news, extended features and analysis, acclaimed columnists, plus blogs and multimedia specials - all brought to you by our award-winning team of journalists, based in cities from San Francisco to Sydney. In addition to our extensive original content, we also host news stories from Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Medicine, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, and BioEntrepreneur, along with science careers news from NatureJobs. These articles appear on news@nature.com up to several weeks before they’re published in the print editions of these journals." (from publisher blurb)

Ovid Core Biomedical Collections I and II

Full-text of 30 core journals in the biomedical fields, such as Annals of Internal Medicine, Archives of Internal Medicine, JAMA, and Science.

Journals@Ovid Full Text = Access to the entire database, including indexing to titles not-subscribed to.

Your Journals@Ovid = Access to only the titles subscribed to by Cowles Library. It is a sub-set of the Journals@Ovid Full Text database.

-->NOTE: Subscription allows for up to SIX simultaneous log-ons. Please LOGOFF when finished!!

Science Online

Our subscription includes:

  • Science: 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles. NOTE: Research papers in Science Express become available under this subscription after publication in the print version of the journal.)
  • ScienceNOW
All Free Content on the site:
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE Table of Contents of current issues and back issues
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE, abstracts and summaries
  • Science Supporting Online Material
  • Science Technical Comments
  • ScienceCareers.org including Next Wave and GrantsNet
  • ScienceNOW stories published within the past four weeks
  • Searching

Coverage Dates: 1997 - present

ScienceDirect

Indexing to over 1,800 journals in the biological, chemical, & pharmacological sciences. Links to full-text for 52+ titles.
Document Delivery is available for most titles.

Coverage Dates: Indexing: varies

Scientific American Archive

Full-text access to Scientific American, a monthly magazine.

Coverage Dates: v. 268, n. 1 (January 1993) - current

Scopus

Scopus claims to be the "worlds largest abstract and indexing database." Scopus indexs over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature (from over 4,000 international publishers). Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 100% coverage of Medline. A unique feature of this databaae is the "Cited By" feature, which offers the ability to determine (and track) the number of times a particular article/author has been cited and by whom.
Links to full-text when subscribed to by the Library; otherwise, offers citation information for Interlibrary Loan purposes.

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.

Coverage Dates: 1785 - 1985

Wiley InterScience

Access to the full-text of 300+ journals in business, chemistry, education, life sciences, and more.

Coverage Dates: 1996 - Current