New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Humanities Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

fastFind (learn more)
Search across many Humanities databases:

Academic Search Complete - EBSCO

Academic Search Complete includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format

Coverage Dates: 1865 - current

African American Experience (Greenwood)

Encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences published by Greenwood Press. Including: History, Biography, Literature, Arts, Music, Pop Culture, Folklore, Business, Slavery, Civil Rights, Politics, Sports, Education, Science & Technology, etc.
Includes material from major reference sets; includes many primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, etc.; includes over 4,000 interviews with former slaves—the WPA slave narratives—from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; “In their Own Voices” audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files.

African American Studies Center Online

The Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) features the new, three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, published in March 2005, the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience.

America: History & Life - EBSCO

Indexing and abstracts of 2,400 scholarly journals on U.S. and Canadian History. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1964 - Current

Art Abstracts - EBSCO

Index & abstracts of major journals in art, architecture, film, graphic arts, and related areas. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1984 - Current

ArticleFirst - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Includes subjects: business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture. For most items, ArticleFirst provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Coverage Dates: 1990-present

ARTstor

A collection of digital images of art, architecture and design from a number of books (notably art history survey texts), museums, archives, and slide collections.
The ARTstor Collection currently contains approximately 500,000 images. The Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. (from pub blurb)

Technical Specifications:
Requires Java. Pop-ups must be allowed and cookies enabled. For full technical requirements, consult: this file.

ATLA Religion Database - EBSCO

The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Indexing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages, the ATLA Religion Database includes more than 460,000 article citations from over 1,500 journals, 651 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 260,000 essay citations from more than 15,400 multi-author works, and more than 423,000 book reviews, and an increasing number of multimedia citations. (from publisher blurb)

Coverage Dates: 1949 - current

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive

The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) was founded as a nonprofit, nondenominational, educational organization dedicated to the dissemination of information about archaeology in the Bible lands. BAS educates the public about archaeology and the Bible through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review. The database contains Biblical Archaeology Review (1975 - present), Bible Review (1985 - 2005 complete) and Archaeology Odyssey (1998 - 2006 complete), plus five popular books.

Coverage Dates: 1975 - present

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) - EBSCO

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Black Studies Center

Brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Cambridge Histories Online

Prestigious Cambridge Histories Online for Europe, Latin America, India, and the Greco-Roman world. Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to approximately 196,000 pages of scholarship.
Covers over 15 different academic subjects: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language & Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political & Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts, and Warfare.

Coverage Dates: Ancient history to the present

Clase and Periodica - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Coverage Dates: 1975-present

Communication & Mass Media Complete - EBSCO

Full-text of 200+ journals in the area of mass media & communication studies. Also includes indexing of 300+ additional titles.

Coverage Dates: Varies - Current

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Electronic access to the full text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index is based on Communication Abstracts Thesauri. Subjects include Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Cultural Studies, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies

Contemporary Authors

Full-text biographical information on twentieth century authors (novelists, poets, playwrights, etc.). Also includes New Revision Series.

Coverage Dates: Volume 1, Number 1 - present

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select

Full-text, timely critical analysis of key literary works of authors now living or who died after 1/1/2000. Emphasis is on established authors.

Coverage Dates: Sporadic coverage of v 1-74;
v 75 - covers 90%

CQ U.S. Historical Documents Collection

CQ has digitized the print "Historic Documents" series (1972-2003). This collection serves as a one-stop source for the most important and valuable commentary on primary source documents relating to each year's key events. Includes over 2,560 documents and 30,000 print pages.

CQ Voting & Elections Collection

"Broad content in the form of thousands of election analysis documents, statistical documents, primary source documents, case summary documents, and more. Exploring the campaign process, the election outcome, and points in between, including presidential, congressional, gubernatorial, and others, with data down to the county and district level." (from publisher blurb)

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

Declassified Documents Reference System

Provides online access to more than 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. This source enables users to locate information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign/domestic policy studies, journalism, etc.

Coverage Dates: 1945 -

Duke Scholarly Collection

Full-text of approximately 35 scholarly journals published by Duke University Press.

ebrary Digital Sheet Music Collection (Byron Hoyt)

Access to over 8,300 pieces of sheet music.
**You will need to download plug-in (ebrary reader) to view the sheet music.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. This collection includes materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, 26 million pages from 138,000 titles with full-text search.

Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.

Historical Abstracts - EBSCO

Indexing and abstracts of over 2,100 scholarly journals in world history, from 1492 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1982 - current

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives

In the First Person is a new library index that lets users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. With a single search, users can access thousands of personal narratives in English from archives and repositories everywhere. The search returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available.
Every imaginable topic, historical event, and person is covered, from World War I and II to popular culture, music to medicine, Hitler to John Wayne, gay rights to September 11th. It’s the most comprehensive archive of social memory yet created—a one-stop starting point for historians, sociologists, genealogists, linguists, and psychologists who want to find, explore, and analyze human experiences. And it will be updated quarterly.

Index Islamicus

Bibliography of publications in European languages on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Provides access to over 292,000 records.
**In library only, stand-alone CD-ROM.

Coverage Dates: 1906-2002

JSTOR (JournalSTORage)

Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Click on SEARCH to begin.

Coverage Dates: Varies (from Volume 1, number 1 for each title)

Literary Reference Center

The Literary Reference Center was developed with undergraduate research in mind. It combines information from major reference works, books and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing providing users with information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Literary Reference Center includes -130,000 author biographies -3,000 author interviews -over 1,000 images of key literary figures -25,000 classic and contemporary poems -11,000 classic and contemporary short stories -full text of over 7,500 classic novels (anticipated by Fall 2006) -full text of over 300 literary journals -more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews -75,000 articles of literary criticism -500,000 book reviews -Citation Tool -Glossary of literary terms -Timeline with geographic contexts

MLA (Modern Language Assn.) Bibliography - EBSCO

Index of journals and books in language and literature. Links to some full-text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1963 - Current

MLA (Modern Language Assn.) Directory of Periodicals - EBSCO

Contains information for over 7,000 language & literature journals (many of which are indexed in the MLA Bibliography database).

Coverage Dates: Current

Music Index Online

Indexing of more than 640 music periodicals.

Coverage Dates: 1979 - Current

Nation Archive - EBSCO

Full text of The Nation, a weekly magazine. Coverage includes 1865 to current issue.

Coverage Dates: 1865 - current

National Review Archive - EBSCO

The National Review has been a leading journal of opinion since its inception in 1955.

Coverage Dates: 1955 - present

Naxos Jass Music Library

Listen to your favorite jazz artist. This collection features Sonny Rollins, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Charlie Parker and many more. A component of the Naxos Music Library, this database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library contains over 355,000 recordings of classical, jazz, wind band, choral, and world music streamed at "CD quality" to your computer. 500 CDs are added every month. Contains comprehensive liner notes. Includes opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies and other essential information.
The recordings in Naxos Music Library include the complete catalogs of BIS, Chandos, CPO, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos and selected titles of other leading independent labels, with more labels being added from time to time.
This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Naxos Spoken Word Library

Naxos Spoken Word Library "comprises one of the most comprehensive collections of classic audiobook material available online." It is a component of the Naxos Music Library. The Naxos Spoken Word Library contains over 1,170 classic titles. Over 340 authors, playwrights, and poets in 21 categories, (from children's classics, classic fiction, to Shakespeare's plays, music education, and many more) are included. All are read by "literary greats."
This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

New Republic Archive - EBSCO

The New Republic, founded in 1914, is the country's leading journal of opinion on politics and the arts.

Coverage Dates: 1914 - present

Original Sources

Published by Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes original source documents across U.S. & world history, literature, social sciences, science, math, religion, and more.

Coverage Dates: Historical and Current

Oxford Art Online

Formerly Grove Art Online this database provides access to The Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms plus links to more than 40,000 images.

Coverage Dates: Current

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)

2nd edition of the 20-volume set. Includes meaning, history, & pronunciation of over 1/2 million words, both past and present.

Coverage Dates: Historical - Current

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Oxford Islamic Studies Online (OISO) offers unrivaled online access to the history and culture of Islam and provides full-text access to great Oxford reference and scholarly works.

Oxford Music Online

Formerly Grove Music Online this database includes the full-text of the Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Coverage Dates: Historical - present

Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower

This database provides the most comprehensive collection (over 14,000 pages) of the 34th U.S. president's most significant writings, including letters, memoranda, cables and directives from the years prior to World War II through the full term of Eisenhower's presidency.

Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly. (from publisher blurb)

Coverage Dates: 1940 - current

Project Muse

Full-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.

Coverage Dates: Varies, as early as 1995 - Current

RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600

RISM series A/II: "Music manuscripts after 1600" is one of the most comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600. RISM brings together more than 585,559 records by over 20,500 composers.

This database is only available to one user at a time.

The database replaces the CD-ROM of this product.

Coverage Dates: 1600-present

Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound® is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection includes a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
The database includes more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones or speakers. Users can browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.

Coverage Dates: 1785 - 1985

United States Serials Set

Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, the U.S. Serial Set provides the thinking behind the events of American life from the early 19th century onward - from agriculture, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. This collection includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaties beginning in 1789 through 1969.

Of particular importance to those who study law, the Serial Set contains Congressional legislative reports that provide insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1969.

Coverage Dates: 1789 - 1969