New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Law Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

fastFind (learn more)
Search across many Law databases:

Clase and Periodica - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Coverage Dates: 1975-present

CQ Congress Collection

The CQ Congress Collection serves as a research and reference tool allowing a sweeping historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
"Informed and objective commentary provides a sweeping survey of the powers and action of the legislative branch of the federal government, and explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Public Affairs Collection

"Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, CQ Public Affairs Collection pulls together CQ's wealth of original content, historic documents and primary source materials, statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs to create a one-stop source for public policy content." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Supreme Court Collection

This collection blends CQ's historical analysis and summaries of the most important Supreme Court decisions together with justice biographies, statistics, and a quantitative analysis on essential topics, an institutional history of the Court, and news feed on current events and public opinion surrounding the Court's decisions.

CQ U.S. Historical Documents Collection

CQ has digitized the print "Historic Documents" series (1972-2003). This collection serves as a one-stop source for the most important and valuable commentary on primary source documents relating to each year's key events. Includes over 2,560 documents and 30,000 print pages.

CQ Voting & Elections Collection

"Broad content in the form of thousands of election analysis documents, statistical documents, primary source documents, case summary documents, and more. Exploring the campaign process, the election outcome, and points in between, including presidential, congressional, gubernatorial, and others, with data down to the county and district level." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Weekly

Complete coverage of the U.S. Congress; including status of bills, votes & amendments, floor & committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and much more.

Coverage Dates: 1984 - current

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

CSR (Congressional Research Service) Reports

CRS Reports was established to provide members, committees and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. Research divisions include: American Law, Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. Many CRS reports are updated at varying intervals, so it is always important to note the exact date of issuance rather than just the title and year of publication.

Coverage Dates: 1914 - current

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.

GalleryWatch CRS Reports - EBSCO

Contains the largest and most up-to-date collection of Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports available online. Content covers a host of subject areas, including economics, environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism and more.

Coverage Dates: 1993 - present

Government Printing Office - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, the GPO Monthly Catalog covers all types of U.S. government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.

Coverage Dates: 1976-present

GPO Access (U.S. Government Printing Office)

Free index to federal government publications distributed through the Superintendent of Documents.

Coverage Dates: 1976 - Current

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

IndexMaster

IndexMaster provides searchable access to the indices and/or tables of contents of over 10,000 legal titles from over 65 legal publishers.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data.

NOTE: (1) To be viewed or manipulated, data may require SAS or SPSS programs which are not currently available on library computers. (2) Users must create a free account to view data. The account must be created on campus. Once an account is created, it can be accessed on or off campus.

LegalTrac

Legal research sources.

Coverage Dates: Current

Lexis-Nexis® Academic Universe Online

Full-text newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources in a variety of subject areas including business, medical, law, and more.

Coverage Dates: Coverage Dates: Varies by title, as early as 1977 - Current

LexisNexis Statistical

Database with access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

Making of Modern Law

This database provides full-text access to over 22,000 American and British legal treatises.

Coverage Dates: 1800 - 1926

Making of Modern Law Trials

A collection of legal transcripts and sensational trial accounts describing the courtroom drama in America, the British Empire and the world.

Coverage Dates: 1600 - 1926

National Journal Group's Policy Central

Contains: National Journal online, CongressDaily, The Hotline, Technology Daily, & Almanac of American Politics.

Coverage Dates: Varies; as early as 1977 - Current

Policy, Form & Manual Analysis (PF & M)

Insurance forms, cases and other information. Select "P,F & M"
Username: drakeuni
Password: tbac3677

Coverage Dates: Current

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.

Coverage Dates: 1785 - 1985

United States Serials Set

Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, the U.S. Serial Set provides the thinking behind the events of American life from the early 19th century onward - from agriculture, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. This collection includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaties beginning in 1789 through 1969.

Of particular importance to those who study law, the Serial Set contains Congressional legislative reports that provide insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1969.

Coverage Dates: 1789 - 1969