Cowles Library Drake University |
||||
![]() |
||||
| Research Tools | About Cowles | Services | How Do I? | News & Events |
|
Home > Research Tools > Databases > Social Sciences Databases |
|
Social Sciences DatabasesA B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All ) Icons:
Academic Search Complete - EBSCOAcademic Search Complete includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format Coverage Dates: 1865 - current African American Experience (Greenwood)Encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences published by Greenwood Press. Including: History, Biography, Literature, Arts, Music, Pop Culture, Folklore, Business, Slavery, Civil Rights, Politics, Sports, Education, Science & Technology, etc. African American Studies Center OnlineThe Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) features the new, three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, published in March 2005, the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience. America: History & Life - EBSCOIndexing and abstracts of 2,400 scholarly journals on U.S. and Canadian History. Links to some full text where available. Coverage Dates: 1964 - Current American History in VideoAmerican History in Video includes over 2,000 hours of streaming newsreels (United, Universal, Chronoscope, and others) and documentaries from The History Channel, Bullfrog, Ambrose, and California Newsreel -- with more to come. Keyword-searchable with synchronized transcripts, it's possible to make customized, annotated clips that can be saved to a personal playlist and shared in a class, cited in papers, or embedded on a web site. Coverage Dates: 1492 - 2000 Annual ReviewsAccess from Volume 1 to the present for the following Annual Review titles: Coverage Dates: Varies - to current ArticleFirst - OCLCA FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Includes subjects: business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture. For most items, ArticleFirst provides a list of libraries that have the journal title. Coverage Dates: 1990-present Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) - EBSCOBibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. Black Studies CenterBrings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases. Cambridge Histories OnlinePrestigious Cambridge Histories Online for Europe, Latin America, India, and the Greco-Roman world. Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to approximately 196,000 pages of scholarship. Coverage Dates: Ancient history to the present CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)Full-text source for theory and research in international affairs. Coverage Dates: Varies Clase and Periodica - OCLCA FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Coverage Dates: 1975-present Communication & Mass Media Complete - EBSCOFull-text of 200+ journals in the area of mass media & communication studies. Also includes indexing of 300+ additional titles. Coverage Dates: Varies - Current Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text CollectionElectronic access to the full text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index is based on Communication Abstracts Thesauri. Subjects include Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Cultural Studies, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies CountryWatchDemographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information about individual countries. Also includes daily news coverage. Coverage Dates: Current CQ Congress CollectionThe CQ Congress Collection serves as a research and reference tool allowing a sweeping historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. CQ Public Affairs Collection"Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, CQ Public Affairs Collection pulls together CQ's wealth of original content, historic documents and primary source materials, statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs to create a one-stop source for public policy content." (from publisher blurb) CQ ResearcherLooking for a "hot topic" on which to do a research paper? This database is a great place to start! It offers pros & cons, background information, and in-depth analysis on a variety of topics, issues, and controversies currently in the news. Coverage Dates: 1991 - current CQ U.S. Historical Documents CollectionCQ has digitized the print "Historic Documents" series (1972-2003). This collection serves as a one-stop source for the most important and valuable commentary on primary source documents relating to each year's key events. Includes over 2,560 documents and 30,000 print pages. CQ Voting & Elections Collection"Broad content in the form of thousands of election analysis documents, statistical documents, primary source documents, case summary documents, and more. Exploring the campaign process, the election outcome, and points in between, including presidential, congressional, gubernatorial, and others, with data down to the county and district level." (from publisher blurb) CQ WeeklyComplete coverage of the U.S. Congress; including status of bills, votes & amendments, floor & committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and much more. Coverage Dates: 1984 - current CREDO ReferenceCREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between. It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips. At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas. CSR (Congressional Research Service) ReportsCRS Reports was established to provide members, committees and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. Research divisions include: American Law, Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. Many CRS reports are updated at varying intervals, so it is always important to note the exact date of issuance rather than just the title and year of publication. Coverage Dates: 1914 - current Declassified Documents Reference SystemProvides online access to more than 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. This source enables users to locate information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign/domestic policy studies, journalism, etc. Coverage Dates: 1945 - Duke Scholarly CollectionFull-text of approximately 35 scholarly journals published by Duke University Press. EconLit - EBSCOPublished by the American Economic Association, it provides provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature. Coverage Dates: 1969 - Current Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineEighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. This collection includes materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, 26 million pages from 138,000 titles with full-text search. Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800 Ethnic NewsWatchFull-text coverage of 240 valuable resources for providing different viewpoints & perspectives from the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage Dates: 1990 - Current Gale Virtual Reference LibraryAccess over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science. Gender Studies - EBSCOGender Studies Database produced by NISC, combines NISC’s popular Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.(from publisher web site) Coverage Dates: 1972- Current GenderWatchFull-text of 170 publications providing in-depth perspective on gender studies. Also includes Women's Studies & Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender studies. Coverage Dates: 1970 (for some material) - Current GPO Access (U.S. Government Printing Office)Free index to federal government publications distributed through the Superintendent of Documents. Coverage Dates: 1976 - Current Historical Abstracts - EBSCOIndexing and abstracts of over 2,100 scholarly journals in world history, from 1492 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Links to some full text where available. Coverage Dates: 1982 - current Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years. Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986 In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal NarrativesIn the First Person is a new library index that lets users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. With a single search, users can access thousands of personal narratives in English from archives and repositories everywhere. The search returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available. Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. NOTE: (1) To be viewed or manipulated, data may require SAS or SPSS programs which are not currently available on library computers. (2) Users must create a free account to view data. The account must be created on campus. Once an account is created, it can be accessed on or off campus. JSTOR (JournalSTORage)Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Coverage Dates: Varies (from Volume 1, number 1 for each title) Latino American ExperienceThe Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos. LGBT Life - EBSCOLGBT Life (formerly: GLBT Life) contains full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,and Transgendered journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (EBSCO)"Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. With coverage extending back to 1966, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science." (from publisher blurb) Mental Measurements Yearbook - EBSCOThe Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 20000 contemporary testing instruments. Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska. Includes testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership. MRI (Mediamark Research Inc.): University Internet Reporter"The leading database of key magazine planning resources." Provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability samples. Create your own account by registering your Drake e-mail address. Subscription allows for 5 simultaneous users. Please logout when finished. Coverage Dates: 2003 data (3 simultaneous log-ons) Nation Archive - EBSCOFull text of The Nation, a weekly magazine. Coverage includes 1865 to current issue. Coverage Dates: 1865 - current National Journal Group's Policy CentralContains: National Journal online, CongressDaily, The Hotline, Technology Daily, & Almanac of American Politics. Coverage Dates: Varies; as early as 1977 - Current National Review Archive - EBSCOThe National Review has been a leading journal of opinion since its inception in 1955. Coverage Dates: 1955 - present New Republic Archive - EBSCOThe New Republic, founded in 1914, is the country's leading journal of opinion on politics and the arts. Coverage Dates: 1914 - present Original SourcesPublished by Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes original source documents across U.S. & world history, literature, social sciences, science, math, religion, and more. Coverage Dates: Historical and Current Papers of Dwight David EisenhowerThis database provides the most comprehensive collection (over 14,000 pages) of the 34th U.S. president's most significant writings, including letters, memoranda, cables and directives from the years prior to World War II through the full term of Eisenhower's presidency. PILOTSThe PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. PILOTS is also accessible via its government web site. Coverage Dates: 1871-present Project MuseFull-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses. Coverage Dates: Varies, as early as 1995 - Current PsycARTICLES - EBSCOFull-text from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations. Coverage Dates: 1987 - Current PsycCRITIQUES - EBSCOPublishes 15+ electronic full-text reviews weekly of psychological books. Coverage Dates: 1995 - Current PsycINFO - EBSCOContains more than two million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Coverage Dates: 1887 - Current ScienceDirectIndexing to over 1,800 journals in the biological, chemical, & pharmacological sciences. Links to full-text for 52+ titles. Coverage Dates: Indexing: varies ScopusScopus claims to be the "worlds largest abstract and indexing database." Scopus indexs over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature (from over 4,000 international publishers). Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 100% coverage of Medline. A unique feature of this databaae is the "Cited By" feature, which offers the ability to determine (and track) the number of times a particular article/author has been cited and by whom. Social Services AbstractsProvides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage Dates: 1980 - Current Sociological Abstracts - Cambridge Scientific Abstracts versionCambridge Scientific Abstracts version of Sociological Abstracts. Coverage Dates: 1963 - Current Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising. Coverage Dates: 1785 - 1985 United States Serials SetConsidered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, the U.S. Serial Set provides the thinking behind the events of American life from the early 19th century onward - from agriculture, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. This collection includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaties beginning in 1789 through 1969. Of particular importance to those who study law, the Serial Set contains Congressional legislative reports that provide insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1969. Coverage Dates: 1789 - 1969 |
|