New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Education Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

fastFind (learn more)
Search across many Education databases:

Academic Search Complete - EBSCO

Academic Search Complete includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format

Coverage Dates: 1865 - current

Chronicle of Higher Education

Full-text access to the Chronicle of Higher Education. Content is updated daily and goes back to September 1989

Coverage Dates: Sept 1989 -

Chronicle of Philanthropy

Full-text of the Chronicle of Philanthropy. Content is added daily and goes back to October 1997.

Coverage Dates: Oct. 1997 -

Clase and Periodica - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Coverage Dates: 1975-present

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

Electronic access to the full text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index based on ERIC Thesauri. Subjects include Adult and Continuing Education, Assessment, Multilingual Education, Content Areas, Curriculum, Early Childhood Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Educational Psychology, Elementary and Primary Education, Family and Community, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Middle School Education, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Philosophy of Education, Professional Development, Research Methods and Evaluation, School Counseling, School Finance and Budgeting, School Funding, School Health, School Law, School Reform, Special Education and Gifted Education, Standards, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods, Technology, Theory of Education, and Vocational Education

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. This collection includes materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, 26 million pages from 138,000 titles with full-text search.

Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800

ERIC - Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version of ERIC.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - Current

ERIC - EBSCO version

Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and documents in education; links to some full-text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - Current

ERIC - Free Department of Education version

Department of Education's free version of ERIC.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - Current

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data.

NOTE: (1) To be viewed or manipulated, data may require SAS or SPSS programs which are not currently available on library computers. (2) Users must create a free account to view data. The account must be created on campus. Once an account is created, it can be accessed on or off campus.

JSTOR (JournalSTORage)

Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Click on SEARCH to begin.

Coverage Dates: Varies (from Volume 1, number 1 for each title)

Mental Measurements Yearbook - EBSCO

The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 20000 contemporary testing instruments. Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska. Includes testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership.
License provides for up to 4 simultaneous users.

Naxos Spoken Word Library

Naxos Spoken Word Library "comprises one of the most comprehensive collections of classic audiobook material available online." It is a component of the Naxos Music Library. The Naxos Spoken Word Library contains over 1,170 classic titles. Over 340 authors, playwrights, and poets in 21 categories, (from children's classics, classic fiction, to Shakespeare's plays, music education, and many more) are included. All are read by "literary greats."
This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Professional Development Collection - EBSCO

Full-text for over 516 journals for the professional educator.

Coverage Dates: Varies by title

Scopus

Scopus claims to be the "worlds largest abstract and indexing database." Scopus indexs over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature (from over 4,000 international publishers). Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 100% coverage of Medline. A unique feature of this databaae is the "Cited By" feature, which offers the ability to determine (and track) the number of times a particular article/author has been cited and by whom.
Links to full-text when subscribed to by the Library; otherwise, offers citation information for Interlibrary Loan purposes.

Teacher Reference Center - EBSCO

TRC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Tests In Print - EBSCO

Tests In Print (TIP) is produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska. TIP serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print is directly linked to the critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series. Users can research current test information from the TIP series and continue their search to all available test reviews published in the MMY series. (partially excerpted from publisher blurb)