New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Pharmacy & Health Science Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

fastFind (learn more)
Search across many Pharmacy & Health Science databases:

AccessPharmacy

AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, it allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.

AccessScience

Full search of the encyclopedia plus science news, definitions, biographies, illustrations, animations and more.

Coverage Dates: Current

AMA Manual of Style

AMA Manual of Style contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts. This guide is an essential tool for physicians and other health professionals. In addition to the basics of grammar and citation, it leads writers through the maze of abbreviation, nomenclature, and quantitation.

Annual Reviews

Access from Volume 1 to the present for the following Annual Review titles:
--Analytical Chemistry
--Astronomy & Astrophysics
--Biochemistry
--Biomedical Engineering
--Biophysics
--Cell & Developmental Biology
--Clinical Psychology
--Ecology & Systematics
--Entomology
--Genetics
--Genomics & Human Genetics
--Immunology
--Law & Social Science
--Medicine
--Microbiology
--Neuroscience
--Nutrition
--Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease
--Pharmacology & Toxicology
--Physiology
--Phytopathology
--Plant Biology
--Psychology
--Public Health
--Sociology
Access from Volume 1 to five years ago for all other Annual Review titles.

Coverage Dates: Varies - to current

ArticleFirst - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Includes subjects: business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture. For most items, ArticleFirst provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Coverage Dates: 1990-present

Biological Abstracts - EBSCO

Collection of bibliographic references to life science journal literature published internationally. Links to some full text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1995 - current

BioMed Central

"An independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research."
Free access to dozens of full-text journals.
**May have to register.

Coverage Dates: Varies - Current

Clase and Periodica - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Coverage Dates: 1975-present

ConsumerLab

"ConsumerLab.com provides comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products. Includes ConsumerLab.com's independent product evaluations, lists of tested products (passed and failed), product recalls, and safety warnings. A science-based encyclopedia of natural products is also provided, including a drug-interaction database."
Subscription provides for up to FOUR simultaneous users.

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

Facts and Comparisons

An internet based drug information library. It contains the following databases: Drug Facts & Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, Drug Interaction Facts for Herbal, Non-Prescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, A to Z Drug Facts, Review of Natural Products, Med Facts: Patient Handouts, Manufacturer Index, Drug Identifier, and The Cancer Chemotherapy Manual.

Coverage Dates: Current

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.

Health Source: Consumer Edition - EBSCO

Consumer-oriented health information. Includes full-text for over 190 journals, including Consumer Reports on Health, and Men's Health.

Coverage Dates: Varies; some titles don't have most recent months

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - EBSCO

Provides full-text for over 590 scholarly journals in the medical and health sciences. Geared more towards the medical professional.

Coverage Dates: Varies; some titles don't have most recent months

HighWire Press Free Journals

Full-text of more than 80 journals in the medical and life sciences.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data.

NOTE: (1) To be viewed or manipulated, data may require SAS or SPSS programs which are not currently available on library computers. (2) Users must create a free account to view data. The account must be created on campus. Once an account is created, it can be accessed on or off campus.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) - EBSCO

Indexes articles in pharmaceutical related journals; links to some full-text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1970 - Current

JAMA

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)
Unlimited Users
Full-text of the journal: 1998--present
Table of Contents, Abstracts & Selected full-text: 1992-1997
Table of Contents & Abstracts only: 1975-1991
Table of Contents only: 1966-1974

Lexi-Comp ONLINE

Only available to pharmacy students. Login and follow the links using the appropriate username and password.

MEDLINE - EBSCO version

Indexes over 4,600 journals in the medical and health sciences. Links to some full-text where available.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - current

MEDLINE - PubMed version

National Library of Medicine's free version.

Coverage Dates: 1966 - Current

Micromedex Healthcare Series

Only available to pharmacy students. Login and follow the links using the appropriate username and password.

Natural Standard

Evidence-based information for complementary/alternative medicine. Contains information for both health professionals and patients. Consists of three databases: herbs and supplements; medical conditions; modalities. Browse by medical conditions, herb/supplement or modality, or search by keyword. Information graded according to strength of scientific evidence

Nature

Nature is a weekly international science journal that publishes peer-reviewed original research, review articles, reports, and commentaries on the latest happenings in the sciences. Based upon impact factor, it is the "world's top multidisciplinary science journal, and the world's top journal publishing basic scientific research."

Coverage Dates: 1997 - present

Nature: News@Nature

"News@nature.com's mission is to provide the best science journalism on the web. Here you will find breaking news, extended features and analysis, acclaimed columnists, plus blogs and multimedia specials - all brought to you by our award-winning team of journalists, based in cities from San Francisco to Sydney. In addition to our extensive original content, we also host news stories from Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Medicine, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, and BioEntrepreneur, along with science careers news from NatureJobs. These articles appear on news@nature.com up to several weeks before they’re published in the print editions of these journals." (from publisher blurb)

New England Journal of Medicine

Full text of The New England Journal of Medicine
1993-present: Full-text
January 1975-1992: Abstracts

Coverage Dates: Full-text: 1993 - Current

Ovid Core Biomedical Collections I and II

Full-text of 30 core journals in the biomedical fields, such as Annals of Internal Medicine, Archives of Internal Medicine, JAMA, and Science.

Journals@Ovid Full Text = Access to the entire database, including indexing to titles not-subscribed to.

Your Journals@Ovid = Access to only the titles subscribed to by Cowles Library. It is a sub-set of the Journals@Ovid Full Text database.

-->NOTE: Subscription allows for up to SIX simultaneous log-ons. Please LOGOFF when finished!!

PILOTS

The PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

PILOTS is also accessible via its government web site.

Coverage Dates: 1871-present

Science Online

Our subscription includes:

  • Science: 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles. NOTE: Research papers in Science Express become available under this subscription after publication in the print version of the journal.)
  • ScienceNOW
All Free Content on the site:
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE Table of Contents of current issues and back issues
  • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE, abstracts and summaries
  • Science Supporting Online Material
  • Science Technical Comments
  • ScienceCareers.org including Next Wave and GrantsNet
  • ScienceNOW stories published within the past four weeks
  • Searching

Coverage Dates: 1997 - present

ScienceDirect

Indexing to over 1,800 journals in the biological, chemical, & pharmacological sciences. Links to full-text for 52+ titles.
Document Delivery is available for most titles.

Coverage Dates: Indexing: varies

Scopus

Scopus claims to be the "worlds largest abstract and indexing database." Scopus indexs over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature (from over 4,000 international publishers). Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 100% coverage of Medline. A unique feature of this databaae is the "Cited By" feature, which offers the ability to determine (and track) the number of times a particular article/author has been cited and by whom.
Links to full-text when subscribed to by the Library; otherwise, offers citation information for Interlibrary Loan purposes.

USP-NF (United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary)

-->Click "log-on" to begin
-->Subscription allows for one simultaneous user
-->Must use Microsoft Internet Explorer (version 5.x or 6.0) as the Web browser
-->Pop-up blockers must be disabled
-->Please log-off when finished!

Coverage Dates: Current

Wiley InterScience

Access to the full-text of 300+ journals in business, chemistry, education, life sciences, and more.

Coverage Dates: 1996 - Current