New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Multi-Subject Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W - (List All )

Academic Search Complete - EBSCO

Academic Search Complete includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format

Coverage Dates: 1865 - current

African American Experience (Greenwood)

Encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences published by Greenwood Press. Including: History, Biography, Literature, Arts, Music, Pop Culture, Folklore, Business, Slavery, Civil Rights, Politics, Sports, Education, Science & Technology, etc.
Includes material from major reference sets; includes many primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, etc.; includes over 4,000 interviews with former slaves—the WPA slave narratives—from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; “In their Own Voices” audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files.

African American Studies Center Online

The Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) features the new, three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, published in March 2005, the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience.

American History in Video

American History in Video includes over 2,000 hours of streaming newsreels (United, Universal, Chronoscope, and others) and documentaries from The History Channel, Bullfrog, Ambrose, and California Newsreel -- with more to come. Keyword-searchable with synchronized transcripts, it's possible to make customized, annotated clips that can be saved to a personal playlist and shared in a class, cited in papers, or embedded on a web site.

Coverage Dates: 1492 - 2000

ArticleFirst - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Includes subjects: business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture. For most items, ArticleFirst provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

Coverage Dates: 1990-present

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) - EBSCO

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Black Studies Center

Brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Books In Print

"The industry’s largest Web-based bibliographic resource for professionals. Find what you're looking for quickly and easily, using our unbiased, authoritative, and comprehensive database of over 5 million book, audio book, and video titles." Also includes Book Reviews.

Britannica Online

Fully searchable version of the encyclopedia with thousands of articles and illustrations.

Coverage Dates: Current

Cambridge Histories Online

Prestigious Cambridge Histories Online for Europe, Latin America, India, and the Greco-Roman world. Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to approximately 196,000 pages of scholarship.
Covers over 15 different academic subjects: American History, British History, Economic History, General History, History of Science, History of the Book, Language & Linguistics, Literary Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political & Social Theory, Regional History, Religious Studies, Theatre Studies & Performing Arts, and Warfare.

Coverage Dates: Ancient history to the present

Clase and Periodica - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Coverage Dates: 1975-present

CQ Congress Collection

The CQ Congress Collection serves as a research and reference tool allowing a sweeping historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
"Informed and objective commentary provides a sweeping survey of the powers and action of the legislative branch of the federal government, and explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Public Affairs Collection

"Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, CQ Public Affairs Collection pulls together CQ's wealth of original content, historic documents and primary source materials, statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs to create a one-stop source for public policy content." (from publisher blurb)

CQ Researcher

Looking for a "hot topic" on which to do a research paper? This database is a great place to start! It offers pros & cons, background information, and in-depth analysis on a variety of topics, issues, and controversies currently in the news.

Coverage Dates: 1991 - current

CQ Supreme Court Collection

This collection blends CQ's historical analysis and summaries of the most important Supreme Court decisions together with justice biographies, statistics, and a quantitative analysis on essential topics, an institutional history of the Court, and news feed on current events and public opinion surrounding the Court's decisions.

CQ U.S. Historical Documents Collection

CQ has digitized the print "Historic Documents" series (1972-2003). This collection serves as a one-stop source for the most important and valuable commentary on primary source documents relating to each year's key events. Includes over 2,560 documents and 30,000 print pages.

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.

It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips.

At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

CSR (Congressional Research Service) Reports

CRS Reports was established to provide members, committees and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. Research divisions include: American Law, Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. Many CRS reports are updated at varying intervals, so it is always important to note the exact date of issuance rather than just the title and year of publication.

Coverage Dates: 1914 - current

Declassified Documents Reference System

Provides online access to more than 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. This source enables users to locate information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign/domestic policy studies, journalism, etc.

Coverage Dates: 1945 -

Dissertations and Theses WorldCat - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, it contains all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members in all subjects. There are over 8 million records in this database and it is updated daily.

Duke Scholarly Collection

Full-text of approximately 35 scholarly journals published by Duke University Press.

Ebooks - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is a catalog of online electronic books (over 665,000) available through libraries worldwide in all subjects.

ebrary

Database of over 10,000 electronic books in a wide variety of academic subject areas.
**You will need to download plug-in (ebrary reader) to view the books.

Coverage Dates: Varies, but mostly within past few years

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. This collection includes materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, 26 million pages from 138,000 titles with full-text search.

Coverage Dates: 1701 - 1800

Encyclopedia of Associations

Available through Gale Directory Library this is the most current version of the resource. It contains a wealth of information about companies and businesses.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text coverage of 240 valuable resources for providing different viewpoints & perspectives from the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Coverage Dates: 1990 - Current

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

Provided through Gale Directory Library this is the most current version of this source.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.

GalleryWatch CRS Reports - EBSCO

Contains the largest and most up-to-date collection of Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports available online. Content covers a host of subject areas, including economics, environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism and more.

Coverage Dates: 1993 - present

Gender Studies - EBSCO

Gender Studies Database produced by NISC, combines NISC’s popular Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.(from publisher web site)

Coverage Dates: 1972- Current

GenderWatch

Full-text of 170 publications providing in-depth perspective on gender studies. Also includes Women's Studies & Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender studies.

Coverage Dates: 1970 (for some material) - Current

Government Printing Office - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, the GPO Monthly Catalog covers all types of U.S. government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.

Coverage Dates: 1976-present

GPO Access (U.S. Government Printing Office)

Free index to federal government publications distributed through the Superintendent of Documents.

Coverage Dates: 1976 - Current

GreenFILE - EBSCO

A bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune, covering over 137 years.
Select "News-The Historical Chicago Tribune" from database pull-down menu.

Coverage Dates: 1849 - 1986

In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives

In the First Person is a new library index that lets users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. With a single search, users can access thousands of personal narratives in English from archives and repositories everywhere. The search returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available.
Every imaginable topic, historical event, and person is covered, from World War I and II to popular culture, music to medicine, Hitler to John Wayne, gay rights to September 11th. It’s the most comprehensive archive of social memory yet created—a one-stop starting point for historians, sociologists, genealogists, linguists, and psychologists who want to find, explore, and analyze human experiences. And it will be updated quarterly.

Ingenta.com

Document delivery.
**Charges may apply.

Coverage Dates: Current

JSTOR (JournalSTORage)

Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Click on SEARCH to begin.

Coverage Dates: Varies (from Volume 1, number 1 for each title)

Lexis-Nexis® Academic Universe Online

Full-text newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources in a variety of subject areas including business, medical, law, and more.

Coverage Dates: Coverage Dates: Varies by title, as early as 1977 - Current

LexisNexis Statistical

Database with access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

LGBT Life - EBSCO

LGBT Life (formerly: GLBT Life) contains full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,and Transgendered journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms.

Making of Modern Law

This database provides full-text access to over 22,000 American and British legal treatises.

Coverage Dates: 1800 - 1926

Making of Modern Law Trials

A collection of legal transcripts and sensational trial accounts describing the courtroom drama in America, the British Empire and the world.

Coverage Dates: 1600 - 1926

Marquis Who's Who

Biographical information from various "Who's Who" series.
**Be sure your web browser is set to accept "cookies."
**Also, please log-off when finished.

Coverage Dates: Current

Nation Archive - EBSCO

Full text of The Nation, a weekly magazine. Coverage includes 1865 to current issue.

Coverage Dates: 1865 - current

National Journal Group's Policy Central

Contains: National Journal online, CongressDaily, The Hotline, Technology Daily, & Almanac of American Politics.

Coverage Dates: Varies; as early as 1977 - Current

National Review Archive - EBSCO

The National Review has been a leading journal of opinion since its inception in 1955.

Coverage Dates: 1955 - present

Naxos Spoken Word Library

Naxos Spoken Word Library "comprises one of the most comprehensive collections of classic audiobook material available online." It is a component of the Naxos Music Library. The Naxos Spoken Word Library contains over 1,170 classic titles. Over 340 authors, playwrights, and poets in 21 categories, (from children's classics, classic fiction, to Shakespeare's plays, music education, and many more) are included. All are read by "literary greats."
This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

NetLibrary

Library of electronic books. Create a free account and view books from anywhere.

Coverage Dates: Varies

New Republic Archive - EBSCO

The New Republic, founded in 1914, is the country's leading journal of opinion on politics and the arts.

Coverage Dates: 1914 - present

New York Times (1851-three years ago)

Full-text including scanned digital images of the New York Times. Coverage includes 1851-three years ago.

Coverage Dates: 1851-2004

OCLC WorldCat & FirstSearch databases (including ECO)

WorldCat, ECO, GPO Monthly Catalog, ERIC, Medline, ArticleFirst, NetFirst, PapersFirst, and ProceedingsFirst.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Original Sources

Published by Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes original source documents across U.S. & world history, literature, social sciences, science, math, religion, and more.

Coverage Dates: Historical and Current

Oxford Reference Online

Online access to over 100 dictionaries & reference works in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Coverage Dates: Varies

Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower

This database provides the most comprehensive collection (over 14,000 pages) of the 34th U.S. president's most significant writings, including letters, memoranda, cables and directives from the years prior to World War II through the full term of Eisenhower's presidency.

PapersFirst - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, it is an index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Coverage Dates: 1993-present

Proceedings (Conference) - OCLC

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of worldwide conference proceedings. Each record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference.

Coverage Dates: 1993-present

Project Muse

Full-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.

Coverage Dates: Varies, as early as 1995 - Current

RefWorks

RefWorks automates the tasks of citing information & creating bibliographies for research papers. Allows you to create your own citations or import from online databases. For remote access, call the Reference Desk at 271-2113 to obtain the site code.

Resources For College Libraries

RCL is the online edition of the new Resources for College Libraries in conjunction with ACRL's Choice and Bowker. The 2006 edition is the successor to Books for College Libraries (BCL3). The core list features 65,000 titles in 58 curriculum-specific subjects. Titles have been selected by more than 300 subject specialists and bibliographers.

ScienceDirect

Indexing to over 1,800 journals in the biological, chemical, & pharmacological sciences. Links to full-text for 52+ titles.
Document Delivery is available for most titles.

Coverage Dates: Indexing: varies

Scopus

Scopus claims to be the "worlds largest abstract and indexing database." Scopus indexs over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature (from over 4,000 international publishers). Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 100% coverage of Medline. A unique feature of this databaae is the "Cited By" feature, which offers the ability to determine (and track) the number of times a particular article/author has been cited and by whom.
Links to full-text when subscribed to by the Library; otherwise, offers citation information for Interlibrary Loan purposes.

Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound® is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection includes a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
The database includes more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones or speakers. Users can browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.

SPIN

SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network) is made available by Drake's Office of Sponsored Programs and Grants Management and is the most widely used funding opportunity database in the world. Researchers use SPIN as their one-stop-shop for identifying the latest grant programs. By aggregating sponsor information in one system, SPIN cuts search times and substantially increases the likelihood of positive results. Program information is presented in a standard format that allows investigators to readily compare funding opportunities. Off-campus users may use the following signon: * Username -- drakeu * Password -- spinslip

Tests In Print - EBSCO

Tests In Print (TIP) is produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska. TIP serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print is directly linked to the critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series. Users can research current test information from the TIP series and continue their search to all available test reviews published in the MMY series. (partially excerpted from publisher blurb)

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.

Coverage Dates: 1785 - 1985

Ulrichsweb.com

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Bibliographic information on consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly journals, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, 'Zines, and many other types of serials publications. Can search by subject and/or keyword to determine "what's out there."

United States Serials Set

Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, the U.S. Serial Set provides the thinking behind the events of American life from the early 19th century onward - from agriculture, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. This collection includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaties beginning in 1789 through 1969.

Of particular importance to those who study law, the Serial Set contains Congressional legislative reports that provide insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1969.

Coverage Dates: 1789 - 1969

Wiley InterScience

Access to the full-text of 300+ journals in business, chemistry, education, life sciences, and more.

Coverage Dates: 1996 - Current

WorldCat - OCLC

WorldCat is a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. If you are unable to find something in the Cowles Library collection using the I-LINK catalog, this is an excellent place to continue your search. Use the Interlibrary Loan link on this page to obtain materials from other collections.

Coverage Dates: Varies