New site

Cowles Library Drake University

Trial Databases

Help!

We are continualy evaluating new databases. Your input is the most important factor (along with available funds) when deciding which ones we will subscribe to. Please give us your opinions, questions, and comments by filling out the form at the bottom of the page. Also note that many trial databases are not available off campus.

ACLS Humanities E-Book

This database includes 220 full-text, cross-searchable books in the humanities selected for their continuing importance to students and scholars. The project includes both in-print and out-of-print books and is a collaboration of the American Council of Learned Societies, various constituent members of the ACLS and over 100 publishers. Areas include: African, American, Asian, Latin American, Canadian, Caribbean, European (ancient, medieval, renaissance, and modern), Middle Eastern, World/comparative, Byzantine/Mediterranean and Australasian/Oceanian history, plus women's history, Jewish studies, history of the native peoples of the Americas and of science and technology. Additional areas include: archaeology, art & architectural history, dance & performance history, film & media studies, folklore, religion, musicology, and political science. To try the site, go to: ACLS Humanities E-Book at http://www.humanitiesebook.org. Username: subscriptions@hebook.org Password: co99ection When prompted, use the UM Login.

Dun & Bradstreet Private Company Database

This database extends our D&B coverage to include business and financial research for private companies.

DynaMed

DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. Features include: * Daily Systematic Literature Surveillance of 500 medical journals * Best Available Evidence determines content * Content updated daily * Nearly 3,000 clinical topics * AHFS Drug Information Records * 65-item template covers all clinically relevant concepts * Evidence summaries focus on patient-oriented outcomes and absolute risks (NNT) * Includes ICD-9 and IDC-10 codes * Systhesized evidence * Includes patient information links and handouts * Thousands of article references and web links DynaMed is an EBSCO database, however it functions very differently than most EBSCO resources.

MedicinesComplete

A trial of MedicinesComplete is available through September 21, 2009. MedicinesComplete is an easy-to-use tool for those who work with phamaceuticals. In addittion to being created, reviewed and regularly re-evaluated by experts in the industry; this service provides: * The latest advice on prescribing, dispensing and administering drugs and medicines, * More than 12,000 drug, poison, interaction and herbal monographs, * Up-to-date guidance on disease treatments, disease management and therapeutics.

Mergent Horizon

An online research application that includes the most comprehensive database of US-traded companies organized by the goods and services from which they derive their revenues as well as their key business relationships.

Mergent WebReports

This database of digital corporate manuals allows access to a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.

Publishing Opportunities Database

Publishing Opportunities Database provides an extensive listing of opportunities from three distinct sources, for professors, post-doctorates and other students interested in presenting and publishing their research papers: Journal Call for Papers records index, Conference Call for Papers, and Special Issue Call for Papers.

Evaluation

Name (Optional):
E-mail (Optional):
Status:
Which database did you try?
Was it easy to use?
Did you find relevant info?
For which class did you use this?
How often would you use it?
Comments:
Should we purchase this database?